FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Capsula - Solar Secrets (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Capsula - Solar Secrets

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC42416

Capsula Solar Secrets on LP

Capsula is a rock band from Buenos Aires, Argentina. Their name is Spanish for "capsule" derived from the David Bowie song "Space Oddity." Influenced as much by 1960s South American psychedelic rock as by garage, they started in Argentina recording three albums: Sublime (1999), Yudoka (2000) and a collection of experimental rarities named Ultimo Fragmento (2000).

They started touring in Europe in 1998 and moved to Bilbao in 2001, where all the members of the band have resided since. In 2002 they released Capsula with songs in Spanish and for the first time songs in English. To write in English they used Surrealist automatism and Cut-up technique, picking phrases from rock & roll songs, Dylan Thomas' poems, movies, newspapers and dreams they had during the recording sessions. 

From 2003 to 2005 they toured Europe and released several singles before recording Songs & Circuits in 2006, with the Madrid-based label Discos Liliput. Issued in 2007, the band describes the album as "garage rock for the 21st Century" reminiscent of The Stooges and The Velvet Underground. The band supported the album with tours throughout 2007 and 2008 in the U.S., U.K., Canada, Europe and South America.

The band released Rising Mountains to rave reviews in 2009. Later that year Capsula collaborated with New York rock legend Ivan Julian (Richard Hell & The Voidoids) and released Ivan Julian & Capsula - The Naked Flame on Bloody Hotsak. That was followed by 2011's John Agenllo-produced The Land of Silver Souls and a re-imagining of David Bowie's The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and The Spiders from Mars in 2012.

In 2013, Capsula returns with the highly anticipated Solar Secrets - recorded, produced and mixed by renowned producer Tony Visconti - fresh off his work with Bowie on Next Day, his first studio album in a decade. Visonti's prowess at the board seamlessly mixes here with Capsula's wild, energetic, and psychedelic garage rock rawness. Visconti remarked, "Capsula is a serious rock trio, possessed of great musicianship with songs destined to be evergreens." 

For two weeks Capsula recorded under the direction of Visconti at Lexington's Saint Claire Recording Studio in the heart of Kentucky. With Visconti at the helm, Capsula experimented with a variety of sonic influences ranging from South American garage rock and West Coast pyschedelics to Latin rhythms yet fans are sure to recognize the trio's signature sound of blazing rock n' roll riffs, heart pounding drumbeats, and catchy vocal melodies.

Capsula Solar Secrets Track Listing:

1.  Trace Of Senseless
2.  Constellation Freedom
3.  Blind
4.  Seven Crimes
5.  Atomic Breakdown
6.  Liars
7.  The Riverside Of Love
8.  You Cannot Blame
9.  The Forgotten Ones
10. Dark Age
11. The Fear
12. Last Light Of Sun
13. Only Dreaming
14. Birds Of Wood

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Trace Of Senseless
2. Constellation Freedom
3. Blind
4. Seven Crimes
5. Atomic Breakdown
6. Liars
7. The Riverside Of Love
8. You Cannot Blame
9. The Forgotten Ones
10. Dark Age
11. The Fear
12. Last Light Of Sun
13. Only Dreaming
14. Birds Of Wood

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.