FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Captain Beefheart - SAFE AS MILK (180G MONO Vinyl LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Captain Beefheart - SAFE AS MILK

(180G MONO Vinyl LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LSUN5460

Captain Beefheart Safe As Milk on 180g Mono LP from Sundazed

Mastered from Richard Perry's Original Mono Mix

Featuring New Liner Notes from Rolling Stone Editor & Longtime Beefheart Enthusiast David Fricke

Captain Beefheart’s 1967 debut album Safe As Milk introduced the world to a one-of-a-kind visionary whose unique output had no precedent in contemporary music. Beefheart, aka Don Van Vliet, filtered the raw influence of the blues and R&B through his own singular musical sensibility and left-field lyrical wordplay, and surrounded himself with some of the most talented and inventive young musicians around. The result was an album that, even in the heady year in which it was released, sounded like nothing else, and the stage for one of rock’s most iconoclastic and idiosyncratic careers. 

With backup from the first, and perhaps finest, incarnation of Beefheart’s legendary Magic Band (including future solo star Ry Cooder on guitar and teenage drum prodigy John “Drumbo” French), and production from future studio superstar Richard Perry, Beefheart unveils his fully-formed sound and vision on such landmark tracks as “Zig Zag Wanderer,” “Abba Zaba,” “Dropout Boogie,” “I’m Glad” and “Electricity” (covered two decades later by Sonic Youth). 

Now released on 180g LP by Sundazed Music, this landmark album sounds the way it was meant to sound, thanks to the restoration of Perry’s rare original - and, to most fans, superior - mono mix, which was later altered by Beefheart’s label without the artist’s involvement. The LP version of this definitive edition also features authoritative new liner notes by Rolling Stone editor and longtime Beefheart enthusiast David Fricke. 

“In mono, Safe As Milk is a powerful, concentrated revelation,” Fricke writes, further noting, “Safe As Milk promised comfort, exotic nourishment and rude health - and delivered. Created in a year rich in historic debuts and transformative statements about rock’s dynamic and expressive possibilities, Safe As Milk was so far in it was out.” 

Captain Beefheart Safe As Milk Track Listing:

1.  Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes I Do 
2.  Zig Zag Wanderer 
3.  Call On Me 
4.  Dropout Boogie 
5.  I'm Glad 
6.  Electricity 
7.  Yellow Brick Road 
8.  Abba Zaba 
9.  Plastic Factory 
10. Where There's Woman 
11. Grown So Ugly 
12. Autumn's Child 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Sure 'Nuff 'N Yes I Do
2. Zig Zag Wanderer
3. Call On Me
4. Dropout Boogie
5. I'm Glad
6. Electricity
7. Yellow Brick Road
8. Abba Zaba
9. Plastic Factory
10. Where There's Woman
11. Grown So Ugly
12. Autumn's Child

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.