FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Chelsea Wolfe - The Grime And The Glow (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Chelsea Wolfe The Grime And The Glow

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC54815

Chelsea Wolfe The Grime And The Glow on LP + Download

Navigating the landscape of contemporary alternative music can be an exercise in redundancy; true visionaries and boundary-pushers are few and far between. Enter Chelsea Wolfe. To simply call Wolfe unique would be an understatement. Even among her peers in the so-called "drone-metal-art-folk" scene she's an icon, a stand-alone singer/songwriter whose fully-formed aesthetic and haunting timelessness appear almost without effort. 

Originally hailing from Northern California, Chelsea Wolfe's formative years were spent tinkering in her country musician father's home studio, crafting "Casio-based gothy R&B" songs. For years, however, she lacked the confidence to share her creations. Then, in 2009, an overseas excursion as part of a nomadic performance troupe ignited her passion for performing and initiated a renewed interest in writing and recording. 

A year later she emerged with a breathtaking debut album, 2010's The Grime & The Glow, immediately establishing herself as the focal point in a wave of new artists intent on blurring the lines between established alt-rock memes. Marrying the gentle intimacy of folk, the atmospheric voodoo of death rock, and the bleak, sullen nihilism of black metal, Wolfe's sound effectively cast a genre all her own: a cavernous rumble, marked by stuttering drums, ethereal synths, and a wash of guitar, all very much in the service of one of the most hypnotic, celestial voices in modern music. 

In 2011, Wolfe relocated to Los Angeles and recorded her second album, Apokalypsis, which was subsequently met with critical adoration. The songs captured therein maintained the strikingly visceral elements of her debut, further showcase Wolfe's unique songwriting ability, while adding a serious heaviness of sound that balanced eloquently with her transcendent voice. 

Chelsea Wolfe makes records that transcend time, avoid pigeonholing, and most importantly, allow a glimpse into the soul of a true visionary. Sargent House is pleased to re-issue both of Chelsea Wolfe's first two albums - The Grime and The Glow and Apokalypsis - on LP for the very first time!

Chelsea Wolfe The Grime And The Glow Track Listing:

1.  Advice & Vices 
2.  Cousins Of The Antichrist 
3.  Moses 
4.  Deep Talks 
5.  Fang 
6.  Benjamin 
7.  The Whys 
8.  Noorus 
9.  Halfsleeper 
10. Bounce House Demons 
11. Widow
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Advice & Vices
2. Cousins Of The Antichrist
3. Moses
4. Deep Talks
5. Fang
6. Benjamin
7. The Whys
8. Noorus
9. Halfsleeper
10. Bounce House Demons
11. Widow

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.