FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Codeine - Frigid Stars (Vinyl 2LP + CD)
Click to Enlarge

Codeine - Frigid Stars

(Vinyl 2LP + CD)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC5201
Codeine Frigid Stars on 2LP + CD

Seminal Slowcore Progenitor's Sub Pop Albums Reissued Individually as Deluxe 2LP + CD Editions!

Restored from the Original Masters & Complete w/ Additional Singles, Demos, Live Recordings and Peel Sessions!

From 1990-1994, New York City's Codeine were making somnambulant waves on a musical landscape reeling from Sub Pop's better known exports. 1991's Frigid Stars, 1992's Barely Real, and 1994's The White Birch received much critical praise upon release, but Codeine dissolved before any of that hype would carry Low, Bedhead, and the Red House Painters to international acclaim.

All three albums will be subjected to Numero's notoriously elaborate packaging and detailed liner notes, including essays by Sub Pop's Jonathan Poneman, Love Child's Alan Licht, and the Flaming Lips' Wayne Coyne and Steven Drozd. The albums have been faithfully restored from the original masters, and are accompanied by a plethora of singles, demos, live recordings, and Peel sessions. Each album will be packaged as a double album with a CD of the same material.

Codeine's debut album Frigid Stars was originally released in 1990 on the German label Glitterhouse and then on Sub Pop the following year. The album is regarded as one of the pioneering album's of the slowcore movement and is highlighted by tracks like "Pickup Song," "Second Chance" and "New Year's" co-written by Bitch Magnet's Sooyoung Park. The track "Cave-In" was the inspiration behind the name for the rock band Cave In who also covered the track. 2LP + CD edition features 10 bonus tracks including demos and acoustic versions.

In support of this great undertaking, Codeine’s original line-up of Stephen Immerwahr, John Engle, and Chris Brokaw will be reuniting for a handful of dates in the US and Europe, including All Tomorrow’s Parties in both London and Japan, and Primavera in Spain.

Codeine Frigid Stars Track Listing:

1.  D
2.  Gravel Bed
3.  Pick Up Song
4.  3 Angels
5.  New Year’s
6.  Second Chance
7.  Cave-In
8.  Cigarette Machine
9.  Old Things
10. Pea

1.  Castle (SOS Demo)
2.  Skeletons (SOS Demo)
3.  Three Angels (SOS Demo)
4.  Corner Store (SOS Demo)
5.  Summer Dresses (SOS Demo)
6.  Pea (Acoustic)
7.  Second Chance (Demo)
8.  Pickup Song (Demo)
9.  Cave-In (Demo)
10. Kitchen (SOS Demo)

1.   D
2.   Gravel Bed
3.   Pick Up Song
4.   3 Angels
5.   New Year’s
6.   Second Chance
7.   Cave-In
8.   Cigarette Machine
9.   Old Things
10.  Pea
11.  Castle (SOS Demo)
12.  Skeletons (SOS Demo)
13.  Three Angels (SOS Demo)
14.  Corner Store (SOS Demo)
15.  Summer Dresses (SOS Demo)
16.  Pea (Acoustic)
17.  Second Chance (Demo)
18.  Pickup Song (Demo)
19.  Cave-In (Demo)
20.  Kitchen (SOS Demo)

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. D
2. Gravel Bed
3. Pick Up Song
4. 3 Angels
5. New Year’s
6. Second Chance
7. Cave-In
8. Cigarette Machine
9. Old Things
10. Pea

1. Castle (SOS Demo)
2. Skeletons (SOS Demo)
3. Three Angels (SOS Demo)
4. Corner Store (SOS Demo)
5. Summer Dresses (SOS Demo)
6. Pea (Acoustic)
7. Second Chance (Demo)
8. Pickup Song (Demo)
9. Cave-In (Demo)
10. Kitchen (SOS Demo)

1. D
2. Gravel Bed
3. Pick Up Song
4. 3 Angels
5. New Year’s
6. Second Chance
7. Cave-In
8. Cigarette Machine
9. Old Things
10. Pea
11. Castle (SOS Demo)
12. Skeletons (SOS Demo)
13. Three Angels (SOS Demo)
14. Corner Store (SOS Demo)
15. Summer Dresses (SOS Demo)
16. Pea (Acoustic)
17. Second Chance (Demo)
18. Pickup Song (Demo)
19. Cave-In (Demo)
20. Kitchen (SOS Demo)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More