FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Cowboy Junkies - The Trinity Session (200g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Cowboy Junkies - The Trinity Session

(200g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Item: LAP072

Remastered by Original Recording Engineer Peter Moore & Cowboy Junkies / Lacquers Cut by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound

Cowboy Junkies recorded this spectacular LP as a "live" event on November 27, 1987 at the Church of the Holy Trinity in Toronto, Canada. It was recorded with a digital R-Dat and using only a Calrec Ambisonic Microphone. What this means is the record sounds like the band was playing right in front of you with the perfect ambiance. Yes, this is a digital recording, yet a recording this outstanding is more than worthy of the highest quality vinyl reissue.

Featuring the sublime vocals of Margo Timmins and the meticulous backing of her brothers Peter (drums) and Michael (guitar) plus Alan Anton (bass), The Trinity Session is an unequivocal, economic country-rock classic. First released in late 1988, The Trinity Session was named "Album of the Year" by The Los Angeles Times and The New York Times described it as "a quiet, special record that challenges traditional music." Rolling Stone declared the album to be "as important as it its inspiring." Today, it remains much more than a snapshot of a single day's work captured on tape. The church where the album was recorded was selected on the basis of work recording engineer Peter Moore had done there with other jazz and classical artists. Using a single Calrec Ambisonic microphone, the results are stunning.

So for this deluxe Analogue Productions reissue, they pulled out all the stops. Starting with new mastering from the original session digital tapes by the original recording engineer. And lacquer cutting by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. This sonic treasure has been pressed on 200g vinyl at Quality Record Pressings with stampers plated by master plating technician Gary Salstrom. Packaged in a heavyweight old-style tip-on Stoughton Printing jacket, this album reissue comes complete with brand-new liner notes by author and music editor Jason Schneider. The liner notes share space with additional recording session photos, inside and on the back cover. Additionally, the cover has been redesigned to remove the lettering and photo distortion originally applied and make it appear as the musicians/artist originally intended.

• Plated and pressed on 200g vinyl at Quality Record Pressings
• Recorded originally at 44.1kHz/16-bit
• Remastered by original recording engineer Peter Moore & Cowboy Junkies
• Lacquers cut by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
• Expanded gatefold edition with additional photos, new cover design as the musicians/artist intended
• New liner notes written by author and music editor Jason Schneider
• Stoughton Printing old-style tip-on gatefold jacket

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Mining For Gold
  2. Misguided Angel
  3. Blue Moon Revisited (Song for Elvis)
  4. I Don't Get It
  5. I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry
  6. To Love is to Bury
  7. 200 More Miles
  8. Dreaming My Dreams With You
  9. Working on a Building
  10. Sweet Jane
  11. Postcard Blues
  12. Walking After Midnight

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.