FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Creedence Clearwater Revival - Absolute Orignals (200G VINYL 7LP + BONUS 45RPM EP BOX SET)
Click to Enlarge

Creedence Clearwater Revival Absolute Orignals


23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LAP0070

Creedence Clearwater Revival Absolute Originals on Numbered Limited Edition 200g 7LP Box Set + Bonus 45RPM Disc from Analogue Productions

Featuring All 7 of CCR's Classic Studio Albums on 200g Vinyl Plus a Bonus 45RPM Disc, All Mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman from the Original Analog Tapes

Comes Complete with In-Depth Liners from Ben Fong-Torres of Rolling Stone, Essay by Steve Hoffman & Photos from Barry Wolman and Didi Zill

One of the most successful reissue catalogs in the history of Analogue Productions, the can't-miss 33 1/3 LPs are back. Only now, they're pressed at QRP on 200-gram vinyl and are housed in deluxe tip-on jackets. Still mastered by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman from the original analog tapes, still comprising the complete seven-record studio catalog and still available as individual break-out titles and in a deluxe box set titled Absolute Originals. All of these reissues were so critically acclaimed upon their release some 10 years back. And most have been sold out for a long, long time. Now they're back and better than ever! 

The box set version - Absolute Originals - includes in-depth liner notes by rock critic extraordinaire Ben Fong-Torres of Rolling Stone fame, and photos by Barry Wolman and Didi Zill, both of whom were there to document Creedence Clearwater Revival back in the day. There is also an essay by Steve Hoffman. Additionally, the box includes an eighth record of choice songs cut at 45 RPM including rare mixes of both "Bad Moon Rising" and "Proud Mary." 

Unquestionably one of the greatest American rock bands ever, Creedence Clearwater Revival will best be remembered for their unique bayou sound popularized in songs like "Proud Mary" and "Green River." Although their music evoked the raw, gospel-tinged sound of the rural South, Doug Clifford, Stu Cook, and Tom and John Fogerty actually hailed from El Cerrito, California, a small town near Berkeley. 

The 1968 release of the band's self-titled debut album Creedence Clearwater Revival paralleled the flowering of the San Francisco music scene, but the Creedence phenomenon had little in common with the "San Francisco Sound." That first LP contained rock standards such as Dale Hawkins's "Susie Q" and Screamin' Jay Hawkins' "I Put a Spell on You," as well as original material by John Fogerty, who was to emerge as one of rock's most influential songwriters.

With the release of their second album, Bayou Country, which was home to such classics as “Proud Mary” and “Born on the Bayou,” it became evident that Creedence had an uncanny knack for writing hits. Third album Green River and songs like "Bad Moon Rising" and the title track and fourth album Willy and the Poor Boys and cuts like "Down On The Corner" and "Fortunate Son" propelled the band even further towards greatness.
Fifth album Cosmo's Factory, the name drummer Doug "Cosmo" Clifford gave CCR's rehearsal studio because so many hits were created there, lived up to its namesake in spades. Cosmo’s Factory was the fourth and biggest of the string of five Top 10 albums CCR released in 1969 and 1970. Featured here are staples like “Travelin’ Band,” “Lookin’ Out My Back Door,” “Who’ll Stop the Rain,” and “Run Through the Jungle.” 

After four years of nearly nonstop performing CCR had become the number one American rock and roll attraction and they sound as polished and tight as ever on their criminally underrated sixth album Pendulum (1970). Of the two hit singles from the release, "Hey Tonight" and "Have You Ever Seen The Rain," the latter's slower ballad format clearly suggests that the band was exploring new styles, including a developing emphasis on instrumentals.  

Pared down to a trio of John Fogerty, Stu Cook and Doug Clifford, 1972's Mardi Gras was Creedence Clearwater Revival's seventh and final full-length release and it finds the group splitting creative duties evenly for the very first time. Home to the classic John Fogerty singles "Sweet Hitch-Hiker" and "Someday Never Comes" as well as a great cover of the standard "Hello Mary Lou." Due to band turmoil and mounting financial and legal issues, CCR disbanded shortly after the Mardi Gras tour.

• 200g 7LP Box Set + Bonus 45 rpm disc
• Mastered from the original analog tapes by Kevin Gray and Steve Hoffman 
• Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
• LPs packaged in deluxe tip-on jackets with original artwork
• In-depth liner notes by rock critic Ben Fong-Torres of Rolling Stone
• Rare photos by Barry Wolman and Didi Zill
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Creedence Clearwater Revival Absolute Originals Contents:

LP1 - Creedence Clearwater Revival
1.  I Put A Spell On You         
2.  The Working Man         
3.  Suzie Q.         
4.  Ninety-Nine And A Half (Won't Do)         
5.  Get Down Woman         
6.  Porterville         
7.  Gloomy         
8.  Walk On The Water         

LP2 - Bayou Country
1.  Born On The Bayou         
2.  Bootleg         
3.  Graveyard Train         
4.  Good Golly Miss Molly         
5.  Penthouse Pauper         
6.  Proud Mary         
7.  Keep On Chooglin'         
LP3 - Green River
1.  Green River         
2.  Commotion         
3.  Tombstone Shadow         
4.  Wrote A Song For Everyone         
5.  Bad Moon Rising         
6.  Lodi         
7.  Cross-Tie Walker         
8.  Sinister Purpose         
9.  The Night Time Is The Right Time

LP4 - Willy And The Poorboys
1.  Down On The Corner         
2.  It Came Out Of The Sky         
3.  Cotton Fields         
4.  Poorboy Shuffle         
5.  Feelin' Blue         
6.  Fortunate Son         
7.  Don't Look Now (It Ain't You Or Me)         
8.  The Midnight Special         
9.  Side O' The Road         
10. Effigy

LP5 - Cosmo's Factory
1.  Ramble Tamble         
2.  Before You Accuse Me         
3.  Travelin' Band         
4.  Ooby Dooby         
5.  Lookin' Out My Back Door         
6.  Run Through The Jungle         
7.  Up Around The Bend         
8.  My Baby Left Me         
9.  Who'll Stop The Rain         
10. I Heard It Through The Grapevine         
11. Long As I Can See The Light

LP6 - Pendulum
1.  Pagan Baby         
2.  Sailor's Lament         
3.  Chameleon         
4.  Have You Ever Seen The Rain         
5.  (Wish I Could) Hideaway         
6.  Born To Move         
7.  Hey Tonight         
8.  It's Just A Thought         
9.  Molina         
10. Rude Awakening #2

LP7 - Mardi Gras
1.  Lookin' For A Reason         
2.  Take It Like A Friend         
3.  Need Someone To Hold         
4.  Tearin' Up The Country         
5.  Someday Never Comes         
6.  What Are You Gonna Do         
7.  Sail Away         
8.  Hello Mary Lou         
9.  Door To Door         
10. Sweet Hitch-Hiker

LP8 - Bonus 45
1.  Bad Moon Rising (Wide Stereo Mix)
2.  Good Golly Miss Molly
3.  Penthouse Pauper
4.  Proud Mary (Wide Stereo Mix) 

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.