FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > CRX (The Strokes) - New Skin (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

CRX (The Strokes) - New Skin

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDC08918

Debut Album from New Project Fronted by Strokes Guitarist Nick Valensi Produced by Queens of the Stone Age's Joshua Homme!

Columbia Records presents New Skin, the debut album from the new Los Angeles-based band CRX, which is fronted by Nick Valensi, guitarist for The Strokes. New Skin was produced by Queens of the Stone Age's Joshua Homme, who recently produced Iggy Pop's Post Pop Depression, and mixed by Andrew Scheps (Johnny Cash, Green Day, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Adele).

Nick started casually writing and singing songs with some friends and when friend, Homme, said he wanted to produce...the project became fully conceived. The band name stems from an amalgamation of a drum machine that was used in the studio called a CR78 that gave everything a mechanical feel which everyone really loved along with a vision Josh had of a kid listening to the record when it came out. The complete vision is a punk rocker, maybe driving around Tokyo in a CRX rocking out to the record...so then CRX just became a proper word in the studio. Nick says, "We started using CRX as a verb – we need to CRX that shit when we were getting excited about a song, but it still needed a little something more. CRX got on the short list of names for the band and it just stuck."

The band, which has only played a handful of shows thus far, has been praised by Stereogum for its "muscular and melodic form of garage-rock." CRX is: Richie James Follin (Guards and Willowz -keyboards), Ralph Alexander (drums), Jon Safley (bass), Nick Valensi (lead vocals, guitar) and Darian Zahedi (guitar). LP version is 180 gram vinyl with a download insert.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Ways To Fake It
  2. Broken Bones
  3. Give It Up
  4. Anything
  5. Walls
  6. Slow Down
  7. On Edge
  8. Unnatural
  9. One Track Mind
  10. Monkey Machine

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.