FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Cypress Hill - IV (180g Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Cypress Hill - IV

(180g Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDC530847

Cypress Hill IV on 180g 2LP

Cypress Hill were notable for being the first Latino hip-hop superstars, but they became notorious for their endorsement of marijuana. Not only did the group campaign for its legalization, but their slow, rolling bass-and-drum loops pioneered a new, stoned funk that became extraordinary influential in '90s hip-hop – it could be heard in everything from Dr. Dre's G-funk to the chilly layers of English trip-hop. DJ Muggs crafted the sound, and B Real, with his pinched, nasal voice, was responsible for the rhetoric that made them famous.

With its stoned beats, B Real's exaggerated nasal whine, and cartoonish violence, the group's eponymous debut became a sensation in early 1992. The singles "How I Could Just Kill a Man" and "The Phuncky Feel One" became underground hits. Cypress Hill released follow-up Black Sunday in the summer of 1993. It entered the album charts at No. 1 and spawned the crossover hit "Insane in the Brain." A darker, gloomier affair than their first two records, third album Temples of Boom featured guest appearances by Wu-Tang Clan members RZA and U-God on "Killa Hill Niggas" and diss track "No Rest For The Wicked" ignited a feud with fellow rapper Ice Cube.

After a three year hiatus and with a renewed energy and purpose, the Latino-flavored rappers climbed back into the ring for another round in the fight for hip-hop supremacy on 1998's IV, an album which is as much at home with ghetto street-kids as it is with California surfers. With right hand man Sen Dog back in the fold and displaying a heavy metal influence, the Gold certified IV yielded the signature single "Dr. Greenthumb" and topped out at No. 11 on the Billboard album charts.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Looking Through The Eyes Of A Pig
2. Checkmate
3. From The WIndow Of My Room
4. Prelude To A Come Up
5. Riot Starter
6. Audio X
7. Steel Magnolia
8. I Remember That Freak Bitch (From The Club)
9. Interlude Part 2
10. (Going All Out) Nothin' To Lose

1. Tequila Sunrise
2. Dead Men Tell No Tales
3. Feature Presentation
4. Dr Greenthumb
5. 16 Men Till There's No Men Left
6. High Times
7. Clash Of The Titans
8. Lightning Strikes

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.