FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Darkstar - News From Nowhere (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Darkstar News From Nowhere

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD2518
Darkstar News From Nowhere on 2LP

Darkstar first coalesced in the underground, electronic thrum of London’s nascent grime and dubstep sphere in the middle 2000’s, growing from attending the now-fabled early FWD club nights to releasing a pair of game-changing 12” singles on Kode 9’s fledgling Hyperdub label. What followed was a fitful and productive period culminating in a discarded album’s worth of tracks, the crucial introduction of vocalist James Buttery to the fold and, finally - the release of their debut full-length North, to wide acclaim.

After touring North across the globe, James Buttery, James Young and Aiden Whalley decamped to a house in the countryside of West Yorkshire, secluding themselves from the distractions of London and writing as a trio for the first time. Ultimately, News From Nowhere is a reflection of the time they spent together there. Says Young, “Every place warrants a story. No matter where it is, how quiet, remote or disconnected. There are moments in people’s everyday lives, no matter how subtle, that can be documented and talked about in great detail. The instances spiral and ascend and take on their own course, altering the perception of how even the slightest change in a day can be felt deeply.”

Eventually proceedings moved from the band’s makeshift digital studio in their house to producer Richard Formby’s (Sonic Boom/Hood/Wild Beasts) dusty studio enclave, full of tape machines and analog synthesizers. The songs that had been inspired by English prog-rock and obscure techno and created as loops based on the band’s affinity for hip-hop production grew into sublimely arranged works. In the end, the album arrived at an altogether singular existence, delving into the moments between moments and elevating them to epic, kaleidoscopic heights. So, the journey from Nowhere begins.

Darkstar News From Nowhere Track Listing:

1.  Light Body Clock Starter
2.  Timeaway
3.  Armonica
4.  -
5.  A Day's Pay For A Day's Work
6.  Young Heart's
7.  Amplified Ease
8.  You Don't Need A Weatherman
9.  Bed Music - North View
10. Hold Me Down
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Light Body Clock Starter
2. Timeaway
3. Armonica
4. -
5. A Day's Pay For A Day's Work
6. Young Heart's
7. Amplified Ease
8. You Don't Need A Weatherman
9. Bed Music - North View
10. Hold Me Down

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.