FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Dave Holland - Prism (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Dave Holland - Prism

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDH4810
Dave Holland Prism on 2LP + Download

Project Marks 40 Years Since Holland's Debut Recordings as a Leader

Featuring Kevin Eubanks, Craig Taborn & Eric Harland

In the 40 years since Dave Holland's recording debut as a leader with his landmark recording Conference Of The Birds he has produced a remarkable series of recordings documenting his musical journey. For Prism, his 2013 recording, he's assembled a quartet of outstanding players and composers who are also leaders in their own right, Kevin Eubanks on guitar, Craig Taborn on piano and Fender Rhodes and Eric Harland on drums. The recording is representative of the wide range of musical references that these musicians incorporate into their music and it features compositions written by each of them for the group.

Debuting at the 2012 TD Ottawa International Jazz Festival last June, Prism brings together four musicians who are each forging their own musical path and together have created a unique and contemporary musical statement on this recording. Holland’s groups have always reflected a collaborative spirit with the goal of creating a musical context that allows the musicians to express their creative individuality, a concept that is an underlying theme to the group’s namesake and eclectic sound. “I liked the image of a prism dividing light into spectrum of colors,” says Holland. “A visual symbol of the one becoming many. The music being a unification of diverse parts.”
The resulting factor of these combined efforts on Prism, Holland’s first album in nearly three years, is an electrifying outing that is equally groove-oriented as it is avant-garde. Jazzwise Magazine has already described the new project as Holland’s “…most visceral recording for many years, recalling the uncompromising onslaught of his work with Miles [Davis] in 1970, and his own Extensions band in the late 1980s.” Holland attributes a portion of this new musical direction to the instrumentation. “The sound of this group is different from other projects I’ve done previously,” reflects Holland. “Most groups have featured horn players and I’ve rarely worked with keyboards in the band. But I wanted a different sound for this group and started thinking about a quartet with guitar, piano doubling on Fender Rhodes, bass and drums. That certainly has opened up some different musical directions.”
In conceiving the band’s personnel, Holland first looked to reunite with one of his oldest collaborators: guitarist Kevin Eubanks. The two began working together on various projects in the late 1980s, and Eubanks soon after led The Tonight Show Band from 1995-2010. “It’s usual for me that the inspiration for putting a group together begins with the musicians that I want to play with. I’d felt a strong musical connection with Kevin when we’d played together previously and the time was right for us to get back together again.” Craig Taborn and Eric Harland joined the group shortly thereafter, having both worked with Holland in different contexts over the past few years, and Prism was formed.

While Prism may have more of an electrically tinged focus on the surface (based in part by the instrumentation), Holland admits that the group’s sound developed organically in various musical directions and that the compositions showcase a much wider range for the group than simply being classified as an “electric band.” “It was part of the sound that I had imagined but it was only when we started rehearsing that the sound of the group really started to emerge,” says Holland. “It was interesting how the compositions that each of us brought to the group reflected different ideas for the direction that the music could take and together made for a complimentary collection.”

The album takes the listener through many musical landscapes starting with the infectious funky groove of the Eubanks’ composition “The Watcher” followed by one of Holland’s compositions, “The Empty Chair,” a soulful blues that hints at references to the music of Jimi Hendrix. Taborn’s “Spirals” creates an intriguing setting for the group that moves through a series of dramatically changing musical developments. Taborn is once again prominently featured with his dark intro to “The Color of Iris,” setting a mood which is only slightly lifted with the entrance of Eubanks on guitar – the pair weave in and out of the spotlight throughout the song, breaking for a solo by Holland halfway through. 

The bassist plays unaccompanied for the first minute of “The True Meaning of Determination,” before Taborn and Eubanks enter with a melody played in unison, with harmonic precision. Eric Harland’s hauntingly beautiful composition “Breathe” provides a musical space that seems to suspend time (putting spotlight on Taborn with an introspective solo piano intro). Combining the celebrated virtuosity of Taborn on electric and acoustic pianos and the soulful scorch of Eubanks in the front line with Harland’s matchless finesse and expressiveness, this decidedly plugged-in quartet is an explosive outlet for Holland at his unbridled best. Gatefold 2LP-set with the bonus track "Winding Way."

Dave Holland Prism Track Listing:

1.  Watcher
2.  Empty Chair
3.  Spirals
4.  Choir
5.  Color Of Iris
6.  New Day
7.  True Meaning Of Determination
8.  Evolution
9.  Breathe
10. Winding Way (bonus track)
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Watcher
2. Empty Chair
3. Spirals
4. Choir
5. Color Of Iris
6. New Day
7. True Meaning Of Determination
8. Evolution
9. Breathe
10. Winding Way (bonus track)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.