FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Dawes - Nothing Is Wrong (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Dawes - Nothing Is Wrong

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD3012
Dawes Nothing Is Wrong on LP

2011 Sophomore Set Advances Exceptional Country-Folk Rock Blend and Reflective Songwriting of Smash Debut

Dawes Prepared to Explode Into Mainstream: Tom Petty's Benmont Tench, Jackson Browne Guest on Record

Transparent, Warm, Thrilling Sonics: Album Recorded Live to 2" Analog Tape

Dawes represents everything pure and true about that American rock n’ roll. With Nothing Is Wrong, the Los Angeles-based band continues to master its blend of singer/songwriter reflection with folk, country, and AOR-inspired arrangements, all ringing guitars, soaring harmonies, and heartfelt melodies. A collection that expertly builds upon the template laid by 2009’s extraordinary debut, North Hills, the group’s new record displays staggering growth and evolution while still manifesting a distinctive, unforgettable voice.

As with North Hills, Dawes recorded Nothing Is Wrong live to 2” analog tape. Far from just an exercise in nostalgic authenticity, the band sees the more traditional technique as a way of focusing their energies and affirming their dedication to the creative process. “If you’re writing on a typewriter,” frontman Taylor Goldsmith says, “you have to commit to whatever you’re writing. Typewriters don’t make it easy for you to go back and rethink things.  Same thing with recording analog. We don’t do it because that’s what the people we admire did. We do it because it demands something out of us.  It doesn’t allow us to show up lazy or not on our game.  We cut every track knowing that this stuff isn’t easy to edit.”

Nothing Is Wrong captures both Dawes’ studio and stage approaches, matching the loose extemporaneity and crunchy dynamism of the band’s live sets with finely honed arrangements and deft musicianship. The album evinces the group’s self-assured strength right from the start with the impossibly infectious “Time Spent In Los Angeles.” Throughout, Goldsmith’s lyrics evoke a powerful feeling of constant movement and endless fleeting moments. Tunes such as “The Way You Laugh” or “If I Wanted Someone” are wistful and melancholic, while the ruminative, piano-driven closer “Little Bit Of Everything” (featuring lap-steel guitarist Ben Peeler) is peopled with indelible characters encountered on his travels. 

Dawes has earned admiration from many of its greatest heroes. Benmont Tench of Tom Petty’s Heartbreakers plays organ on Nothing Is Wrong, and “Fire Away” sees guest vocals from Jackson Browne. In addition, legendary guitarist/songwriter Robbie Robertson asked Dawes to serve as his backing combo for a number of promotional performances.

While Nothing Is Wrong marks a new milestone on this remarkable band’s musical journey, it remains but a single step on all involved see as a long-term trip.

Dawes Nothing Is Wrong Track Listing:

1.  Time Spent in Los Angeles

2.  If I Wanted Someone

3.  My Way Back Home

4.  Coming Back to a Man
5.  So Well

6.  How Far We’ve Come

7.  Fire Away

8.  Moon in the Water

9.  Million Dollar Bill

10. The Way You Laugh

11. A Little Bit of Everything
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Time Spent in Los Angeles?
2. If I Wanted Someone?
3. My Way Back Home?
4. Coming Back to a Man
5. So Well?
6. How Far We’ve Come?
7. Fire Away?
8. Moon in the Water?
9. Million Dollar Bill?
10. The Way You Laugh?
11. A Little Bit of Everything

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.