FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Dean Wareham - Dean Wareham (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Dean Wareham Dean Wareham

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDW2713

Dean Wareham Dean Wareham on Colored LP + Download

Produced by Jim James of My Morning Jacket

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Dean Wareham (Dean & Britta, Galaxie 500, Luna) follows up his 2013 EP Emancipated Hearts with the release of his debut self-titled solo album on Double Feature. The record features nine new songs, produced by Jim James of My Morning Jacket and recorded at Jim’s house in Louisville, Kentucky in 2013. Personnel includes bassist Britta Phillips and drummer Anthony LaMarca with Jim James on keyboards, guitars and backing vocals.

"How did this album come about? Back in 1999 I had bought My Morning Jacket’s first album, The Tennessee Fire, and loved it. I mentioned it in some interview or top ten list and remember getting an email from Jim James a few months later, just saying hi and thanks. Years later (2012) I had dinner with Jim’s manager (and a longtime friend) Mike Martinovich; we wound up having drinks back at his Flatiron office late that night, where Mike played me some tracks from Jim’s freshly-recorded solo album. I loved this one too, commenting on how great the production was. “Why don’t you two collaborate on something?” said Mike.

"That summer My Morning Jacket curated a rock festival in Louisville. Jim invited me to play a set of Galaxie 500 songs, and after the festival was over to come stay at his house to record a few things. Jim’s engineer Kevin Ratterman brought in some nice equipment with tubes and shiny little lights and all that. We set up drums in the living room, guitar amps in the garage, and the vocal microphones in Jim’s den. We tracked four songs that weekend and decided right away to come back in a few months and finish a whole album. Late December found us back at work at Jim’s house, before moving to the state-of-the-art, amaze-balls LaLaLand Studios for mixing sessions." - Dean Wareham 

Dean Wareham Dean Wareham Track Listing:

1.  The Dance Disappears
2.  Beat the Devil
3.  Heartless People
4.  My Eyes Are Blue
5.  Love is Not a Roof Against the Rain
6.  Holding Pattern
7.  I Can Only Give My All
8.  Babes in the Wood
9.  Happy & Free
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Dance Disappears
2. Beat the Devil
3. Heartless People
4. My Eyes Are Blue
5. Love is Not a Roof Against the Rain
6. Holding Pattern
7. I Can Only Give My All
8. Babes in the Wood
9. Happy & Free

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.