FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Delta Spirit - Into the Wide (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Delta Spirit - Into the Wide

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD67414

Delta Spirit Into The Wide on 180g 2LP + Download

The fourth album from San Diego-bred five-piece Delta Spirit, Into the Wide was born in a flood-ruined, cave-like, rat-colonized room in the band's new hometown of Brooklyn. After spending more than a year writing together in the windowless studio they rebuilt after Hurricane Sandy wreaked its havoc, the group resurfaced with a batch of demos and headed to Georgia to team up with Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Deerhunter). 

Recorded near an old shipping yard in Atlanta, Into the Wide intimately captures the claustrophobia of Delta Spirit's creative space, turning that tension into a moody meditation on the restlessness of city life, growing older, and longing for escape. With its lyrics largely inspired by the murder ballads of Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash, Into the Wide proves more darkly charged than anything the band's ever offered up before but-thanks to their command of both indelible melody and sprawling, atmospheric arrangements-ultimately emerges as Delta Spirit's most gloriously heavy album so far. 

For Delta Spirit (vocalist/guitarist Matt Vasquez, multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Kelly Winrich, guitarist Will McLaren, bassist Jon Jameson, and drummer Brandon Young), the raw, nervy energy running throughout Into the Wide stems partly from the band's return to the more free-and-easy approach they embraced in making their debut album, 2008's Ode to Sunshine. Into the Wide is driven by lavishly textured arrangements and a deeply heady emotionalism. 

Hazy and hymnlike, "Push It" opens the album by personifying the U.S.A. as a beat-down, reluctantly indestructible woman and musing on the rival forces of decay and idealism that define American life today. From there Into the Wide gives way to the triple-threat of the triumphant, guitar-fueled "From Now On," the frenetic and punch-drunk "Live On" (an ode to surviving bully brutality, inspired by Vasquez's Texas childhood), and the groove-powered yet anthemic "Take Shelter" (Winrich's celebration of being hopelessly lost but still finding your way to the light). The album then leads into "Hold My End Up," a haunting and howling epic that builds to blistering intensity.

Into the Wide sustains that forward-charging momentum as songs journey from Middle America to Georgia to Reseda to the California wilderness, the possibly mythical locale serenaded on its dreamy, gauzy-guitar-laced title track. On the deceptively soaring "Patriarch," Vasquez twists his own past experience with evangelical group The International House of Prayer into a story of a cult-stolen girl who believes that God has called on her to kill herself. The album's second half also features such standouts as "Language of the Dead," a stomping piece of psych-pop that name-checks both Bob Dylan and Robert E. Lee in its send-up of hero worship.  And on "The Wreck," Into the Wide comes to a close with a gorgeously stark piano ballad that's equal parts lovely and aching in Vasquez's tribute to his wife's enduring faith.

Delta Spirit Into The Wide Track Listing:

1.  Push It
2.  From Now On
3.  Live On
4.  Take Shelter
5.  Hold My End Up
6.  Into The Wide

1.  Language of the Dead
2.  For My Enemy
3.  Patriarch
4.  (Interlude)
5.  War Machine
6.  The Wreck
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Push It
2. From Now On
3. Live On
4. Take Shelter
5. Hold My End Up
6. Into The Wide

1. Language of the Dead
2. For My Enemy
3. Patriarch
4. (Interlude)
5. War Machine
6. The Wreck

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.