FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Desaparecidos - Payola: Deluxe (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Desaparecidos Payola: Deluxe

(Vinyl LP)

$3.00 - 14%
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDD37918

Desaparecidos Payola: Deluxe on Limited Edition Colored LP + Download

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

More than a decade after putting out their first album, Desaparecidos return with a follow-up that breathes new life into their brutal fusion of protest music and punk. Though the band never truly parted ways, vocalist/guitarist Conor Oberst, guitarist Denver Dalley, keyboardist Ian McElroy, bassist/vocalist Landon Hedges, and drummer Matt Baum have spent much of the past 13 years pursuing other ambitions (including Oberst’s work as a solo artist and Bright Eyes frontman). 

Fueling their Epitaph Records debut Payola with the same spirit of unrest that propelled 2002’s Read Music/Speak Spanish, Desaparecidos now match that passion with a fuller, more furious sound and gut-punching commentary on everything from immigration reform and the healthcare debate to gun control and Wall Street bailouts.

With its title capturing what McElroy calls “these endless examples of what’s wrong with the whole money culture happening in America today,” Payola was co-produced by the band and their longtime collaborator Mike Mogis (First Aid Kit, The Faint, Man Man). Recorded in several bursts over the past few years at ARC Studios in Omaha, the album’s 14 tracks pack a barrage of outcry and insight into each sharply crafted lyric while storming forward with a ferocious energy. 

And in their implausibly melodic blend of blistering riffs, lead-heavy rhythms, and savage vocal work, Desaparecidos reveal a bottled-up intensity that suggests a band whose chemistry’s stronger than ever before. “It wasn’t like we were trying to recapture some former glory,” says Oberst of Desaparecidos’ long-planned reunion in the studio. “It was like we had to do this, and we had to do it now.”

Limited Edition (2000) deluxe colored LP features a diecut cover that continues the tradition begun with Read Music/Speak Spanish for exceptional packaging and design from this band.

Desaparecidos Payola - Deluxe Track Listing:

1.  The Left is Right 
2.  The Underground Man 
3.  City on the Hill 
4.  Golden Parachutes 
5.  Radicalized 
6.  MariKKKopa 
7.  Te Amo Camila Vallejo 
8.  Ralphy’s Cut 
9.  Backsell 
10. Slacktivist 
11. Search the Searches 
12. 10 Steps Behind 
13. Von Maur Massacre 
14. Anonymous 

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Left is Right
2. The Underground Man
3. City on the Hill
4. Golden Parachutes
5. Radicalized
6. MariKKKopa
7. Te Amo Camila Vallejo
8. Ralphy’s Cut
9. Backsell
10. Slacktivist
11. Search the Searches
12. 10 Steps Behind
13. Von Maur Massacre
14. Anonymous

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.