FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Destroyer - Your Blues (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Destroyer - Your Blues

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD23816

Destroyer Your Blues on 180g LP + Download

Merge 25 Reissue Series

Available on Vinyl for the First Time Outside of Canada

Recorded with the production duo JC/DC (David Carswell and John Collins) who also worked with Dan Bejar on Destroyer’s first three albums, Your Blues is a stunning collection of songs and craftsmanship. Bombastic and bold at times, quiet and soothing at others, the 12-song set has an almost theatrical quality that informs the compositions. Originally released on CD in 2004, Destroyer’s sixth studio album is now widely available on vinyl, as the December installment in the Merge 25 reissue series. Available on vinyl for the first time outside of Canada, Your Blues comes pressed on 180g LP with an accompanying download coupon. 

"Your Blues is luxurious pop presented as high drama, the ideal sonic setting for Bejar’s oft-arch, oft-parodied delivery. It’s here, not in front of a rock band, where his voice is actually most at home: in a world where nothing sounds real, and everything is possible and wondrous and exclamatory. Pity the poor believers in “purity” and “authenticity,” tired and meaningless words that should never be applied to any art form, least of all pop music. (“So, Great Pretender, pull a face!”) Bejar’s sloganeering - Your Blues contains some of his most memorable phrases, almost as many as Streethawk - is all the more powerful when presented in contrast to the synthetic veneer.

“People say, ‘They just didn’t want it enough.’ Oh, but we were the Music Lovers!” Destroyer doesn’t want what you think he wants; he doesn’t want what you think he should, as a so-called rock singer. He’s called Destroyer for a reason. On Your Blues, Bejar made it crystal clear that your blues are your business; they have nothing to do with his art or wherever he decides to take it. Dan Bejar never went back to Your Blues—not even while touring the record, which involved the B.C. band Frog Eyes pummeling these songs to the ground as only a Beefheartish art-rock band could. (You can hear the results on the Notorious Lightning EP, featuring six reworked versions of Your Blues songs; it seemed almost an apology to rockist snobs.) Your Blues sounds like nothing else in the Destroyer discography, which is exactly why it should be celebrated, cherished - and reissued on vinyl." - Michael Barclay 

Destroyer Your Blues Track Listing:

1.  Notorious Lightning
2.  It’s Gonna Take an Airplane
3.  An Actor’s Revenge
4.  The Music Lovers
5.  From Oakland to Warsaw
6.  Your Blues
7.  New Ways of Living
8.  Don’t Become the Thing You Hated
9.  Mad Foxes
10. The Fox and the Hound
11. What Road
12. Certain Things You Ought to Know

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Notorious Lightning
2. It’s Gonna Take an Airplane
3. An Actor’s Revenge
4. The Music Lovers
5. From Oakland to Warsaw
6. Your Blues
7. New Ways of Living
8. Don’t Become the Thing You Hated
9. Mad Foxes
10. The Fox and the Hound
11. What Road
12. Certain Things You Ought to Know

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.