FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Devo - Hardcore VOL. 2 (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Devo - Hardcore VOL. 2

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDD3256
Devo Hardcore Vol. 2 on 2LP

Devo's Hardcore documents the group’s beginning as pre-punk outcasts in the fertile Akron, Ohio, underground rock scene. Spawned at the nearby college of Kent State, site of the infamous May 4 Massacre, Devo formed as a conceptual art project armed with the radical philosophy of de-evolution. Brothers Mothersbaugh (Mark, Bob and Jim) and Brothers Casale (Jerry and Bob) along with drummer Alan Myers soon whipped up an otherworldly brand of “devolved blues” that could hold its own alongside the beatnik groove of 15-60-75 (a.k.a. The Numbers Band) or the primal rock poetry of The Bizarros.
Recorded on various four-track machines and in tiny studios, basements and garages between 1974-1977, Hardcore reveals their strikingly clear vision: rock ’n’ roll stripped bare of its collective cool and jerked back into propaganda fit for post-modern man. It’s no surprise that these transmissions would soon catch the eye and ear of Brian Eno, who later produced their landmark 1978 debut album. Noisy synth, strangled guitar chops and a primitive rhythmic thud power the early Devo sound. Threaded beneath it all are lyrical themes of post-McCarthy paranoia, middle-class ephemera and Devo’s long-running topic of choice: sex, or lack thereof.

Volume 2 digs further into the band's cranial bunker with the caveman hit "Be Stiff," the space age surf-blues of "Clockout" and even a demented take on bubblegum pop, "Goo Goo Itch." This 2LP-set includes four previously unreleased tracks: "Man From The Past," "Doghouse Doghouse," "Hubert House," and "Shimmy Shake." Superior Viaduct and Booji Boy Records are proud to present Devo's Hardcore to a new generation of spuds, lovingly packaged with Moshe Brakha's stunning cover photography. As David Bowie said in 1977, Devo is indeed "the band of the future."

Devo Hardcore Vol. 2 Track Listing:

1.  Booji Boy's Funeral
2.  Can U Take It?
3.  Bamboo Bimbo
4.  A Plan For U
5.  The Rope Song
6.  Goo Goo Itch
7.  Be Stiff
8.  All Of Us
9.  Baby Talkin' Bitches
10. I Need A Chick
11. U Got Me Bugged
12. Chango

1.  Fraulein
2.  Dogs Of Democracy
3.  "37"
4.  Bottled Up
5.  Working In A Coalmine
6.  I Been Refused
7.  Fountain Of Filth
8.  Clockout
9.  Let's Go
10. Man From The Past
11. Doghouse Doghouse
12. Hubert House
13. Shimmy Shake
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Booji Boy's Funeral
2. Can U Take It?
3. Bamboo Bimbo
4. A Plan For U
5. The Rope Song
6. Goo Goo Itch
7. Be Stiff
8. All Of Us
9. Baby Talkin' Bitches
10. I Need A Chick
11. U Got Me Bugged
12. Chango

1. Fraulein
2. Dogs Of Democracy
3. "37"
4. Bottled Up
5. Working In A Coalmine
6. I Been Refused
7. Fountain Of Filth
8. Clockout
9. Let's Go
10. Man From The Past
11. Doghouse Doghouse
12. Hubert House
13. Shimmy Shake

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.