FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Diana - Familiar Touch (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Diana - Familiar Touch

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD62217

It's been almost three years since Diana released their critically-acclaimed LP, Perpetual Surrender. Now, the wait for new material has come to an end with the release of their second album Familiar Touch. Having initially conceived Perpetual Surrender as a one-off recording project, Kieran Adams (drums, drum machines, synths), Carmen Elle (guitars, vocals) and Destroyer touring band member Joseph Shabason (synths, samplers, saxophone) regrouped after a period of time that Elle describes as "learning how to be a band."

Bigger, fuller and far more open and expansive, Familiar Touch takes all of Perpetual Surrender's gorgeous qualities and pushes the songs to the forefront, upping Diana's game tremendously. "Miharu" is the perfect example of this: recalling the best mid-80's alt-pop, it mixes the lush soul signature of Flyte Time Productions while delivering a massive pop chorus that liquefies into their modern production nous. "Moment of Silence" is another sophisticated pop track with what Adams describes as having "a very smooth top layer" and synths that give the impression of "stretching time – being stretched thin in those moments." "Confession" also builds upon those Jam & Lewis rhythms, with Adams describing it as sounding like the pair "if they worked with Annie Lennox."

Mixed by Chris Coady (TV on the Radio, Beach House, Grizzly Bear) and mastered by Heba Kadry, Familiar Touch is also lent a skilled hand by Thom Gill (guitars, keys, piano), Bram Gielen (bass), Vince Spilchuk (trumpet), and vocalists Robin Dann, Alanna Stuart of Bonjay and Gary Beals. By having the space and time to work with their new ideas on their own terms, this time around, Diana have crafted an album that sounds unabashedly vibrant and distinctly 2016.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Confession
  2. What You Get
  3. Slipping Away
  4. Moment of Silence
  5. The Coward
  6. Miharu
  7. Cry
  8. Helpless
  9. These Words
  10. Take it Over

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.