FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Digable Planets - Blowout Comb (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Digable Planets Blowout Comb

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD0906
Digable Planets Blowout Comb on Limited Edition 2LP

Blowout Comb is named for the combs used to maintain an Afro hairstyle, and that’s significant. The group’s Ishmael “Butterfly” Butler said it summed up what they wanted to do with it: "It means the utilization of the natural, a natural style,” he has said.

Like with 1993’s debut Reachin’ (A New Refutation of Time and Space), ‘utilizing the natural’ meant creating hip hop that blended jazz with the formidable rap skills of the aforementioned Butterfly, Craig ‘Doodlebug’ Irving and Mary Ann ‘Ladybug Mecca’ Vieira. Unlike that debut, it meant broadening to include guests such as Gang Starr’s Guru, Jeru the Damaja, and Jazzy Joyce.

Following the gold-selling commercial success of their debut, the group set out to prove their artistic prowess. This is intelligent, alternative hip hop that sounded like party music. Its lyrics are dense with wit, social commentary and politics – and its original inner sleeve was modeled on the newspaper of the Black Panther movement.

Its instrumentation includes sax, vibraphone and flute. Its samples - gathered from global cratedigging trips while touring the first album around the world - included Grant Green, Eddie Harris, Shuggie Otis and jazz-funk pioneer Roy Ayers (whose “We Live in Brooklyn, Baby” became “Borough Check” here). And yet at the same time its beats are infectious and its spirit undeniable.

This is an album firmly rooted in Brooklyn. “Growing up hearing and cherishing this album, it created a textured soundscape of a mythical world of rhymes, jazz, breakbeats, culture, art and urban ambiance,” says DJ and fan Mick Boogie in the liner notes. “When I moved to Brooklyn years later, I found that the world I imagined while listening to this classic LP actually really existed...”

Though Digable Planets have reunited on occasion since – and though their influence endures in every top-shelf rap act with a jazzy sensibility – the trio parted ways after Blowout Comb, citing that old favorite "creative differences." Sometimes, the most volatile combinations create the best art.

Limited edition 2LP pressing with embossed cover, 18″× 24″ fold-out poster and liner notes by Larry Mizelle Jr. courtesy of Light In The Attic and their Modern Classics Recordings imprint.

Digable Planets Blowout Comb Track Listing:

1.  The May 4th Movement Starring Doodlebug   
2.  Black Ego   
3.  Dog It   
4.  Jettin'   
5.  Borough Check   
6.  Highing Fly   
7.  Dial 7 (Axioms Of Creamy Spies)   

1.  The Art Of Easing   
2.  K.B.'s Alley (Mood Dudes Groove)   
3.  Graffiti   
4.  Blowing Down   
5.  9th Wonder (Blackitolism)   
6.  For Corners
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The May 4th Movement Starring Doodlebug
2. Black Ego
3. Dog It
4. Jettin'
5. Borough Check
6. Highing Fly
7. Dial 7 (Axioms Of Creamy Spies)

1. The Art Of Easing
2. K.B.'s Alley (Mood Dudes Groove)
3. Graffiti
4. Blowing Down
5. 9th Wonder (Blackitolism)
6. For Corners

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.