FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Donn T - Flight Of The (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Donn T - Flight Of The

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD19101

Donn T Flight Of The Donn T on LP

Innovative and enigmatic singer-songwriter Donn T, is the quintessential independent artist and do-it-yourselfer. Her debut album, 2010's Kaleidoscopic, received international acclaim and led to stints performing with a diverse array of artists, including Amy Winehouse, Marsha Ambrosius, Zap Mama, John Legend and Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump. Donn T's songs have appeared in various forms of visual media, including the Showtime crime series Street Time, and in ads for the wireless audio product Sonos. 

"Waiting," a standout track on Donn T's recently released EP Gramophonica, and on her upcoming second full-length Flight Of The Donn T, can be heard in the BET film I Will Follow, which was helmed by award-winning director Ava Duvernay (Selma). Additionally, Donn T's single "Midnight" is currently featured in With This Ring, a Lifetime network movie directed by Nzingha Stewart. Donn T has also racked up songwriting credits, including "I Am Music" by Common featuring Jill Scott.

Donn T added label owner to her list of accomplishments, when she launched D Tone Victorious in 2014. When asked why she underwent the arduous task of starting her own label, Donn T simply says, “Necessity is the mother of invention.” On her sophomore set, Flight of The Donn T, she shares co-production credit with her new husband Jake Morelli, a guitarist/producer whose performance credits include stints with Ed Sheeran, Bruno Mars, Ne-Yo, The Roots, Roberta Flack, Jennifer Hudson, Grace Potter, Esperanza Spalding, and Hunter Hayes. She and Morelli share additional writing credit with Mike McHenry (Miley Cyrus, Rihanna, Black Eyed Peas, Madonna), Ray Angry (Christina Aguilera, Mark Ronson, Mick Jagger), DJ Danophonic and Steve McKie (Bilal).

Donn T originally hails from Philadelphia, and comes from a storied musical lineage. Her grandfather was Beachy Thompson of the pioneering gospel group The Dixie Hummingbirds. Her father is Lee Andrews, leader of legendary doo-wop group Lee Andrews & The Hearts. He and Donn T’s mother, Jacqui, were in the soul group Congress Alley. Donn T's brother, Ahmir "?uestlove" Thompson, is a Grammy-winning musician and bandleader of The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon. Family ties notwithstanding, Donn T is a unique talent in her own right as Flight Of The Donn T certainly attests: "These songs encompass the emotions I had about taking flight, about launching something new."

Donn T Flight Of The Donn T Track Listing:

1.  Last Breath
2.  I Recognize
3.  Fly
4.  What's Beautiful
5.  Rainbow Girl
6.  Viva
7.  To the Moon, Alice!
8.  Midnight
9.  Bother Me
10. Elevator
11. Waiting


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Last Breath
2. I Recognize
3. Fly
4. What's Beautiful
5. Rainbow Girl
6. Viva
7. To the Moon, Alice!
8. Midnight
9. Bother Me
10. Elevator
11. Waiting

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.