FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Du Blonde - Welcome Back To Milk (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Du Blonde - Welcome Back To Milk

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDD62510

Du Blonde Welcome Back To Milk on LP + Download

It’s time for a revolution. Beth Jeans Houghton is dead. Du Blonde is born. Welcome Back To Milk is the Newcastle-born singer-songwriter’s second album, but her debut as Du Blonde, and it’s a complete reinvention: new name, new look, new band, new attitude – and attitude is a key word. Du Blonde is not a persona or a character, it’s Beth Jeans Houghton ripping it up and starting again. 

Gone is the baroque chamber pop of 2012’s Yours Truly, Cellophane Nose. Gone is the band she recorded that album with, The Hooves Of Destiny. In place of all that are heavy riffs, loud drums, vocal aggression and the sound of somebody finding their voice, whether screaming the chorus of "Chips To Go," singing soul-bearing ballad "Four In The Morning" or cooing through wistful torch song "After The Show."

Aside from a track made with Youth, Welcome Back To Milk is produced by Jim Sclavunos, who knows plenty about capturing dark sounds as a member of Nick Cave’s Bad Seeds. An unmistakable presence on the album is that of Future Islands frontman Samuel T Herring, whose soaring vocals appear on "Mind Is On My Mind." Where Yours Truly, Cellophane Nose threw everything at a song, Du Blonde strips everything down to the bare essentials. "Black Flag," which opens the album, is bass, guitar, drums and a dose of rage. 

“I got really into hard rock and American hardcore while I was living in LA after we finished touring,” Beth says. “I couldn’t work out why I was having such trouble expressing myself with the music I was writing, but after a while I realised the instrumentation didn’t lend itself to the anger I was feeling. I needed to release all of this pent up aggression and I was trying to do it over layers of vocal harmonies and nicely played instruments. It was never going to work.”

She adds, “I was hiding behind my guitar for so long, it was easy to feel safe there. I wanted to put myself in a position I wasn’t comfortable with in order to grow as a performer. I want no choice but to look people dead in the eyes and give them all I have.”

Du Blonde Welcome Back To Milk Track Listing:

1.  Black Flag
2.  Chips to Go
3.  Raw Honey
4.  After the Show
5.  If You’re Legal
6.  Hunter
7.  Hard to Please
8.  What Is It Like
9.  Mr. Hyde
10. Four in the Morning
11. Mind is on My Mind
12. Isn’t It Wild?

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Black Flag
2. Chips to Go
3. Raw Honey
4. After the Show
5. If You’re Legal
6. Hunter
7. Hard to Please
8. What Is It Like
9. Mr. Hyde
10. Four in the Morning
11. Mind is on My Mind
12. Isn’t It Wild?

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.