FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Eels - Royal Albert Hall (Vinyl 3LP)
Click to Enlarge

Eels - Royal Albert Hall

(Vinyl 3LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDE05216

Eels Royal Albert Hall on Limited Edition Colored 3LP + DVD + Download

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available

Eels have had one of the most consistently acclaimed careers in music. The ever-changing project of principal singer/songwriter Mark Oliver Everett, aka E, Eels have released 10 studio albums since their 1996 debut, Beautiful Freak. Mojo Magazine calls Everett “a member of rock's very own League of Extraordinary Gentlemen,” while legendary troubadour Tom Waits says he “eagerly awaits each new release.” 

In 2008 Everett published his highly-acclaimed book Things the Grandchildren Should Know and starred in the award-winning Parallel Worlds, Parallel Lives documentary about the search to understand his quantum physicist father, Hugh Everett III. In 2009 Eels began the release of an album trilogy: Hombre Lobo, End Times and Tomorrow Morning, followed three years later by 2013’s Wonderful, Glorious and the critically-acclaimed The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett in 2014.

In May 2014 Eels embarked on an ambitious 53-show world tour. Starting in Phoenix, Arizona and crossing the United States and Canada before rolling through mainland Europe and Great Britain, the band performed spine-tingling shows at New York’s Apollo, Chicago’s Vic Theater, Los Angeles’ Orpheum Theater, The Montreux Jazz Festival and The Amsterdam Concert Hall, among many others. On the night of June 30 Eels returned to London’s legendary Royal Albert Hall for the first time in nine years to play a stunning show that was filmed and recorded. 

In sharp contrast to the previous Eels tour that found the band in track suits playing high octane electric rock & roll, this show was “a gentlemen’s Eels concert,” as E puts it. Filmed by 12 cameras in the gorgeously-lit Royal Albert Hall, the new film and album find the Eels dapperly dressed in suits and ties, and all five band members stretching their musical capabilities past new boundaries, playing songs from 2014’s critically-acclaimed The Cautionary Tales of Mark Oliver Everett for the first time along with songs spanning the Eels' 19 year career. 

When they played Royal Albert Hall in 2005 they were accompanied by a string section. This time there are only the five core members of the band on stage throughout the concert, splitting their time between guitar, piano, pedal steel guitar, trumpet, upright and bowed bass, melodica, vibraphone, timpani, drums, concert chimes and glockenspiel. And the results are stunning.

The film features the band backstage preparing for the big night and captures the entire show from start to finish, as it happened, including Everett kissing the spot where John Lennon once stood on the stage, making his way to hug fans all the way around Albert Hall’s massive floor, returning for several encores, as well as a surprise “phantom” encore where Everett’s dream of playing the massive Albert Hall pipe organ for some spooky Eels classics finally comes true.

Perhaps as a result of this fantastic show, Eels were quickly invited back for a second 2014 London show and Everett, once heavily bearded and mistakenly suspected by London police to be a terrorist (while taking a break from press interviews in Hyde Park), was made an honorary citizen of London in a ceremony granting him Freedom of the City.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Eels Royal Albert Hall Track Listing:

1.  Where I'm At
2.  When You Wish Upon A Star
3.  The Morning
4.  Parallels
5.  Addressing The Royal Audience
6.  Mansions Of Los Feliz
7.  My Timing Is Off
8.  A Line In The Dirt
9.  Where I'm from
10. It's A Motherfucker
11. Lockdown Hurricane

1.  A Daisy Through Concrete
2.  Introducing The Band
3.  Grace Kelly Blues
4.  Fresh Feeling
5.  I Like Birds
6.  My Beloved Monster
7.  Gentlemen's Choice
8.  Mistakes Of My Youth/Wonderful, Glorious
9.  Where I'm Going

1.  I Like Where This Is Going (Encore 1)
2.  Blinking Lights (For Me) (Encore 1)
3.  Last Stop: This Town (Encore 1)
4.  The Beginning (Encore 2)
5.  Can't Help Falling In Love (Encore 2)
6.  Turn On Your Radio (Encore 2)
7.  Flyswatter (Phantom Encore)
8.  The Sound Of Fear (Phantom Encore)

1.  Where I'm At
2.  When You Wish Upon A Star
3.  The Morning
4.  Parallels
5.  Addressing The Royal Audience
6.  Mansions Of Los Feliz
7.  My Timing Is Off
8.  A Line In The Dirt
9.  Where I'm from
10. It's A Motherfucker
11. Lockdown Hurricane
12. A Daisy Through Concrete
13. Introducing The Band
14. Grace Kelly Blues
15. Fresh Feeling
16. I Like Birds
17. My Beloved Monster
18. Gentlemen's Choice
19. Mistakes Of My Youth/Wonderful, Glorious
20. Where I'm Going
21. I Like Where This Is Going (Encore 1)
22. Blinking Lights (For Me) (Encore 1)
23. Last Stop: This Town (Encore 1)
24. The Beginning (Encore 2)
25. Can't Help Falling In Love (Encore 2)
26. Turn On Your Radio (Encore 2)
27. Flyswatter (Phantom Encore)
28. The Sound Of Fear (Phantom Encore)


Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More