FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Emperor X - Western Teleport (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Emperor X - Western Teleport

(Vinyl LP)

$8.99 - 47%
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDE2091
Emperor X Western Teleport on 180g LP + Download Card

Emperor X is the project name of American songwriter and noise pop saboteur C. R. Matheny. Western Teleport is his 2011 release on Bar/None Records and follow-up to 2008's The Blythe Archive, Vol. 1. In 2004, Matheny dropped his pursuit of a master’s degree in physics to self-release a string of critically acclaimed lo-fi speed folk albums. His releases grabbed the attention of NPR, Pitchfork, The New Yorker, Tiny Mix Tapes and many others. The UK’s Plan B Magazine called his music “a swollen interfusion of capricious brilliance”.

His music has been described as part Daniel Johnston part Dan Deacon. His songs are always catchy with lyrics that will pull heartstrings. His sing along tunes and unstoppable energy has brought Emperor X to art galleries, bars, bookstores, university symposiums, college radio stations, garbage-strewn pedestrian tunnels, and one very confused laser tag arena in Connecticut. 

Emperor X has shared stages with indie luminaries like Sebadoh, Nada Surf, Casiotone for the Painfully Alone, The Hold Steady, and John Vanderslice, who dubbed Matheny “a serious genius” on his photo blog after they toured together. Matheny’s reputation as a producer also grown - he co-helmed the 2008 album Bits by Brooklyn jangle punk mainstays Oxford Collapse on Sub Pop Records alongside Eric Topalski of Don Caballero. 

“This is ultimately an album of its time, a portrait of the landscape, a portrait of a nation prone to disaster, decay, decline, unsure of its future but unable to make good on the promises of its past but also unwilling to revise its plans to reconcile them with this new awareness, this new world. In short, a magnificent jumble of uncertainty. It may have been a while since an artist has made such a potent statement with such mighty accuracy, without hyperbole, without the hype and self-aggrandizement that big name rockers seem to bring to such affairs when they release important records.” – PopMatters

“Emperor X seems to be pioneering a musical style that combines the most effective elements of lo-fi recording, analog electronics and formula rock, the songs are fantastic.” - Prefix Magazine

Emperor X Western Teleport Track Listing:

1.  Erica Western Teleport
2.  Sig Alert
3.  Canada Dry
4.  A Violent Translation of the Concordia Headscarp
5.  The Magnetic Media Storage Practices of Rural Pakistam
6.  Defiance
7.  Anti-Rage
8.  Allahu Akbar
9.  Compressor Repair
10. Sincerely, H. C. Pregerson
11. Erica Western Geiger Counter
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Erica Western Teleport
2. Sig Alert
3. Canada Dry
4. A Violent Translation of the Concordia Headscarp
5. The Magnetic Media Storage Practices of Rural Pakistam
6. Defiance
7. Anti-Rage
8. Allahu Akbar
9. Compressor Repair
10. Sincerely, H. C. Pregerson
11. Erica Western Geiger Counter

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More