FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Erasure - The Circus (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Erasure - The Circus

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Add to Cart
Item: LINT5638

30th Anniversary Edition of 1987 Synth-Pop Classic Mastered by Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio

What if Depeche Mode just wanted to dance? The Circus is Erasure's (formed by songwriter/synth player Vince Clarke and singer Andy Bell) stunning 1987 sophomore effort, a powerhouse blend of infectious synth-pop hooks and soulful vocals. Once again produced by Flood, The Circus found the duo rounding out their signature sound and writing some astonishing pop songs along the way. The album peaked at No. 6 in the UK and spawned the four hit singles: "Sometimes," "It Doesn't Have To Be," "Victim Of Love" and "The Circus."

Vince Clarke is a groundbreaking synth-pop pioneer. Prior to forming Erasure, Clarke wrote nearly all of songs on Depeche Mode's iconic first album, Speak and Spell, before moving on to form Yazoo with Alison Moyet (Yaz in the US). Remarkably Clarke found Andy Bell by placing a newspaper ad. The flamboyant Bell was among pop's first openly gay stars, and his high-pitched voice has a soulful power that's an arresting complement to Clarke's inspired melodies.

Mastering Notes: The Circus is sourced from a beautifully preserved 30-ips 1:1 copy of the original master tapes. These are the best sounding and perhaps the only existing analog tapes for this classic release. When mastering this LP Intervention compared what they were hearing from the tapes to original US and UK LPs. Mastering notes included with the tapes show that the original LP was bass-limited from 40Hz down. Of course they restored the wonderfully full bass response that's present on the tapes, and mastered wide open with no compression applied. The result is an alive and pulsing beat with foundation like you've never heard - the best The Circus has ever sounded!

• 30th anniversary 180g audiophile pressing from Intervention Records
• 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes
• Mastered by Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio
• Pressed at RTI
• Exquisitely restored cover art
• Old style 'Tip-On' single-jacket printed by Stoughton on heavy stock

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. It Doesn't Have To Be
  2. Hideaway
  3. Don't Dance
  4. If I Could
  5. Sexuality
  6. Victim of Love
  7. Leave Me To Bleed
  8. Sometimes
  9. The Circus
  10. Spiralling

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.