FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Erasure - Wonderland (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Erasure - Wonderland

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LINT5621

30th Anniversary Edition of 1986 Synth-Pop Classic Mastered by Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio

What if Depeche Mode just wanted to dance? Wonderland is the classic 1986 debut of Erasure, formed by songwriter/synth player Vince Clarke and singer Andy Bell. Produced by Flood, Wonderland is accessible and catchy synth pop, but also sharp, emotionally charged and redolent of heartache. Erasure delivered massive hits in the UK and the US with radio and club staples like "Oh L'Amour," "Who Needs Love Like That" and "My Heart ... So Blue."

Vince Clarke was a groundbreaking synth-pop pioneer before Wonderland. Prior to forming Erasure, Clarke wrote nearly all of songs on Depeche Mode's iconic first album, Speak and Spell, before moving on to form Yazoo with Alison Moyet (Yaz in the US). Remarkably Clarke found Andy Bell by placing a newspaper ad. The flamboyant Bell was among pop's first openly gay stars, and his high-pitched voice has a soulful power that's an arresting complement to Clarke's inspired melodies.

Mastering Notes: Wonderland is sourced from a beautifully preserved 30-ips tapes that say both "Master" and "production copy." You be the judge! What is certain is that these are the best and perhaps the only existing analog tapes for this classic release. When mastering this LP Intervention compared what they were hearing from the tapes to original US and UK LPs. Mastering notes included with the tapes show that the original LP was bass-limited from 40Hz down. Of course they restored the wonderfully full bass response that's present on the tapes, and mastered wide open with no compression applied. The result is an alive and pulsing beat with foundation like you've never heard - the best Wonderland has ever sounded!

• 30th anniversary 180g audiophile pressing from Intervention Records
• 100% analog mastering from real analog tapes
• Mastered by Kevin Gray At Cohearent Audio
• Pressed at RTI
• Exquisitely restored cover art
• Old style 'Tip-On' single-jacket printed by Stoughton on heavy stock

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
  1. Who Needs Love Like That
  2. Reunion
  3. Cry So Easy
  4. Senseless
  5. Heavenly Action
  6. Say What
  7. Love Is A Loser
  8. March On Down The Line
  9. My Heart ... So Blue
  10. Oh, L'Amour

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.