FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > John Rutter - Flora Gave Me Fairest Flowers - English Madrigals (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

John Rutter - Flora Gave Me Fairest Flowers - English Madrigals

(Vinyl LP)

$7.99 - 62%
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (190)
Item: LCOL105

John Rutter's Cambridge Singers bring consistent unanimity of ensemble and a natural expressive feeling to this very attractive program of madrigals. Perhaps the first group, devoted to love and marriage, may be thought rather too consistently mellifluous; but the second, 'Madrigals of times and season', is nicely contrasted, with the clean articulation of Morley's Now is the month of Maying made the more telling by the lightness of the vocal production. John Wilbye's lovely Draw on sweet night, which follows, makes a perfect contrast. After two items about 'Fairies, spirits and conceits', the concert closes in a mood of moving Elizabethan melancholy with a group devoted to mourning and farewell. Superb recording in a most flattering acoustic makes this collection the more enjoyable, though one to be dipped into rather than heard all at once.


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
A1 Thomas Morley My Bonny Lass She Smileth
A2 Michael East Quick, Quick, Away, Dispatch
A3 Orlando Gibbons Dainty Fine Bird
A4 William Byrd Though Amaryllis Dance In Green
A5 Thomas Weelkes Hark, All Ye Lovely Saints Above
A6 John Wilbye Weep, Weep, Mine Eyes
A7 John Wilbye Flora Gave Me Fairest Flowers
A8 Thomas Morley Fyer, Fyer
A9 Thomas Tomkins Too Much I Once Lamented
A10 John Farmer A Little Pretty Bonny Lass

B1 Thomas Morley Now Is The Month Of Maying
B2 John Wilbye Draw On, Sweet Night
B3 William Byrd This Sweet And Merry Month Of May
B4 Thomas Tomkins Adieu, Ye City-prisoning Towers
B5 William Byrd Lullaby
B6 John Bennet Round About In A Fair Ring
B7 Thomas Weelkes Ha Ha! This World Doth Pass
B8 John Wilbye adieu, sweet amaryllis
B9 Thomas Weelkes Death Hath Deprived Me
B10 Robert Ramsey Sleep, Fleshly Birth
B11 Orlando Gibbons The Silver Swan

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More