FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Frank Zappa - Roxy And Elsewhere (180G Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Frank Zappa - Roxy And Elsewhere

(180G Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDZ5210

Frank Zappa Roxy And Elsewhere on 180g 2LP

Back home where it belongs, the music of Frank Zappa is now back in the hands of the Zappa Family Trust. To celebrate this, the estate has signed a global license and distribution deal with Universal Music Enterprises to release 60 of the iconic composer's recordings. The UME deal includes the entire Zappa catalog as it appeared on Frank Zappa's own independent label, Barking Pumpkin Records. Many of the original analog masters have been re-mastered for this occasion.

“The artist and composer, Frank Zappa, is one of the most important and influential artists in music history with his prolific body of work, including his breakthrough rock ‘n roll concept albums. We are honored that Gail Zappa and the Zappa Family Trust have entrusted us with his legacy. We intend to honor him and bring high quality releases, digital and physical, for his new and longtime fans,” said Bruce Resnikoff, President/CEO, Universal Music Enterprises (UMe).

Roxy & Elsewhere is a 1974 live album from Frank Zappa and the Mothers primarily recorded on December 10, 11 and 12, 1973, at The Roxy, Hollywood with overdubs added later while the Elsewhere material - "Dummy Up," "Son of Orange County," and "More Trouble Every Day" - was captured completely live at the Auditorium Theater in Chicago and Edinboro State College in Pennsylvania. Roxy & Elsewhere marked the debut recording for eight of the album's ten pieces with "More Trouble Every Day" and "Son of Orange County" being the exceptions. Featuring the popular revamped early-70s Mothers line-up of George Duke, Napolean Murphy Brock, Bruce Fowler, Tom Fowler, Walt Fowler, Ruth Underwood and Chester Thompson among others.

Frank Zappa – guitar, vocals, producer
Napoleon Murphy Brock – flute, tenor saxophone, vocals
George Duke – synthesizer, keyboards, vocals
Bruce Fowler – trombone
Tom Fowler – bass 
Walt Fowler  – trumpet
Chester Thompson/Ralph Humphrey – drums
Don Preston – synthesizer
Jeff Simmons – rhythm guitar, vocals
Ruth Underwood – percussion

Frank Zappa Roxy And Elsewhere Track Listing:

1.  Penguin In Bondage
2.  Pygmy Twylyte
3.  Dummy Up
4.  Village of the Sun
5.  Echidna's Art (of You)
6.  Don't You Ever Wash That Thing?

1.  Cheepnis
2.  Son of Orange County
3.  More Trouble Every Day
4.  Be-Bop Tango (of the Old Jazzmen's Church)

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Penguin In Bondage
2. Pygmy Twylyte
3. Dummy Up
4. Village of the Sun
5. Echidna's Art (of You)
6. Don't You Ever Wash That Thing?

1. Cheepnis
2. Son of Orange County
3. More Trouble Every Day
4. Be-Bop Tango (of the Old Jazzmen's Church)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.