FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Freddy King - Bossa Nova and Blues (180g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Freddy King - Bossa Nova and Blues

(180g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LSUN5489

Freddy King Bossa Nova And Blues on 180g Mono LP

Mastered from the Original Analog Reels & Pressed at RTI

One of the Three Kings of blues guitar along with B.B. and Albert, Texas-born Freddy (Freddie) King influenced everyone from Eric Clapton and Peter Green in the UK to Jerry Garcia and Stevie Ray Vaughan in the States. But even his staying up all night playing poker with Grand Funk wasn’t enough to prevent his seminal King/Federal albums from staying out of print on vinyl for decades - until Sundazed came to the rescue. 

The reissue campaign that began with meticulously mastered editions of King classics Let’s Hide Away and Dance Away with Freddy King, Freddy King Gives You a Bonanza of Instrumentals, and Freddy King Goes Surfin’ continues with his rare 1963 offering, Bossa Nova and Blues. In the tradition of his surfing album, which wasn’t really surf, Bossa Nova and Blues had no bossa nova - but the advertising was at least half true, and hey, there were two cuts that had “bossa nova” in the title. 

Though King was best known for blues instrumentals, “Bossa Nova Blues” and “The Bossa Nova Watusi Twist” (dig the dance craze threesome) were actually the only two instrumentals on an album otherwise dedicated to bluesy ballads. But of course, Freddie made it work - churning out bonafide classics like the karmic “Someday, After A While (You’ll Be Sorry)” (later covered by John Mayall and the Blues Breakers on A Hard Road), the emotive “The Welfare (Turns Its Back on You),” the soulful “It Hurts to Be In Love,” and the more uptempo, New Orleans-flavored “You’re Barkin’ Up the Wrong Tree.” 

This Sundazed mono edition reproduces the original artwork and presents the original 12-song LP on 180 gram vinyl mastered from the original analog reels and pressed at Record Technology Inc.

Freddy King Bossa Nova And Blues Track Listing:

1.  (I’d Love To) Make Love To You 
2.  You’re Barkin’ Up The Wrong Tree 
3.  Look Ma, I’m Cryin’ 
4.  It Hurts To Be In Love 
5.  You Walked In 
6.  The Bossa Nova Watusi Twist 
7.  Is My Baby Mad At Me 
8.  Someday, After A While (You’ll Be Sorry) 
9.  One Hundred Years 
10. Bossa Nova Blues 
11. The Welfare (Turns Its Back on You) 
12. Walk Down That Aisle (Honey Chile) 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. (I’d Love To) Make Love To You
2. You’re Barkin’ Up The Wrong Tree
3. Look Ma, I’m Cryin’
4. It Hurts To Be In Love
5. You Walked In
6. The Bossa Nova Watusi Twist
7. Is My Baby Mad At Me
8. Someday, After A While (You’ll Be Sorry)
9. One Hundred Years
10. Bossa Nova Blues
11. The Welfare (Turns Its Back on You)
12. Walk Down That Aisle (Honey Chile)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.