FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Graham Parker and the Rumour - Mystery Glue (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Graham Parker and the Rumour Mystery Glue

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDP18322

Graham Parker And The Rumour Mystery Glue on LP    

Graham Parker and the Rumour, one of the UK's pioneering pre-punk bands, returns with a new album, Mystery Glue. Written in Parker's second home of New York and recorded in just six days in the legendary RAK Studios in London, Mystery Glue is a real return to form for this seminal British songwriter and powerhouse band, which features its original lineup of Parker, Bob Andrews, Brinsley Schwarz, Martin Belmont, Andrew Bodnar and Stephen Goulding.

Often cited as a major musical influence for other artists, including Elvis Costello, Nick Lowe, Paul Weller and Bruce Springsteen, Parker's songwriting prowess and live intensity led Springsteen to declare, "It was '76, that was when Howlin' Wind came out and, you know I was just getting' my own ball rolling and suddenly I felt all of this heat. I felt all of the heat on my back when I put that record on because it was so good and it was one of those records that you're gonna say 'every single cut is spectacular.' And his voice was so...it was one of those 'cuts through the bullshit' voices."

Mystery Glue is an album of conscious rock, harking back to Graham Parker and the Rumour's genre-defining music of the '70s whilst paying homage to Dylan, reggae, soul and rock 'n' roll. Of the album title, Parker says, "When Swiss astrophysicist Fritz Zwicky described Dark Matter in the 1930's, he got the name wrong. It is of course 'Mystery Glue' that holds the Universe together. As always, when I present new songs to the Rumour they work feverishly to make sense of them, often starting out with wildly disparate and alarmingly wrong diversions. Then, seemingly out of nowhere, everything falls into place, as if by dint of some Mystery Glue that holds us all together."

Graham Parker And The Rumour Mystery Glue Track Listing:

1.  Transit Of Venus 
2.  Going There 
3.  Wall Of Grace 
4.  Swing State 
5.  Slow News Day 
6.  Railroad Spikes 
7.  Flying Into London 
8.  Pub Crawl 
9.  I’ve Done Bad Things 
10. Fast Crowd 
11. Long Shot 
12. My Life In Movieland        

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Transit Of Venus
2. Going There
3. Wall Of Grace
4. Swing State
5. Slow News Day
6. Railroad Spikes
7. Flying Into London
8. Pub Crawl
9. I’ve Done Bad Things
10. Fast Crowd
11. Long Shot
12. My Life In Movieland

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.