FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Half Japanese - Volume 4: 1997-2001 (Vinyl 3LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Half Japanese - Volume 4: 1997-2001

(Vinyl 3LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH34516

Half Japanese Volume Four: 1997-2001 on 3LP Box Set

Final Volume of Fire Records' Half Japenese Box Set Series Focuses on the Band's Releases from the Late-90s and Early-00s!

Formed in 1975, this US group has undergone numerous personnel changes since its inception. Despite an erratic history, the unit remains an important outlet for the considerable but anachronistic talents of Jad Fair, who has also pursued a musically indistinguishable solo career. Half Japanese performances were events in the truest sense, often featuring two sets of drums, brass bands, magicians and up to four guitars.

Half Japanese's body of work taken as a whole represents an almost inconceivable playground of diversity and experimentation. However, it should not be a roll-call of distinguished colleagues that provides Fair and Half Japanese with their notoriety, but the stature of their music and lyrics, which have played a large part in shaping the development of the American underground rock scene (influencing artists such as Beck, Sebadoh and Nirvana).

The final volume of the four-part Half Japanese box set series Volume 4: 1997-2001 – includes the albums Bone Head, Heaven Sent and Hello. Showcasing a range of experimental pop smarts and noisy punk bite, these albums see the band surrounding Jad Fair's musings on subjects from hopeless monsters to hopeless romantics with everything from sharp melodies to 64 minute work outs, with a Primal Scream cover thrown in there for good measure.

Fire's colossal Half Japanese series began in 2014 with 1/2 Gentleman/Not Beasts and this triple offering brings the release full circle with the last of the set. Heaven Sent is made available on vinyl for the first time, with the title track originally over an hour long, a special edit brings over 30 minutes to the LP release. High-quality downloads are also included along with the original artwork from Fair.

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

LP1 - Bone Head
1. Monkey Hand
2. A Night Like This
3. Sometimes
4. Zombie Eye
5. Song Of Joy
6. Oww
7. Do It
8. He Walks Among Us
9. Diamonds And...
10. Kiss Me Like A Frog
11. Rhumba
12. Intergalactic Aliens
13. Celebration
14. C'mon Baby
15. Somehow I Knew
16. Now I Know
17. Brand New Sky
18. Should I?
19. Song Of Joy
20. Futuristic Lovers
21. Movin' On Up (LP download only)

LP2 - Heaven Sent
1. Heaven Sent
2. Good & True & Fine
3. A Fine Line
4. Outer Space
5. Well Worth While
6. Better Than No
7. Dynasty
8. Goldfish & The Trout
9. This Is Our Night
10. The Day We Met

LP3 - Hello
1. All The Angels Said Go To Her
2. Patty
3. Temptation
4. The Legend Of Hillbilly John
5. Mississippi
6. No Doubt
7. 10:00 AM
8. Jump Into The Mess
9. Red Sun
10. Whatever The Outcome
11. Best Of The Best
12. Summer Nights (LP download only)
13. Our Turn (LP download only)
14. Starlight
15. The Good Side
16. Super-Size It (LP download only)
17. Happyland

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.