FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Hamilton Leithauser - Black Hours: Deluxe (The Walkmen) (180G Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Hamilton Leithauser - Black Hours: Deluxe (The Walkmen)

(180G Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDL3533

Hamilton Leithauser Black Hours: Deluxe on 180g 2LP + Download Card

Debut Solo Album from The Walkmen Frontman

Includes Bonus 4 Track EP

Hamilton Leithauser presents his debut solo album Black Hours via Ribbon Music - inaugurating a new chapter in an already remarkable career from The Walkmen front man. The album brings Leithauser full circle and then some, from lonely midwinter piano-and-vocals sessions, to a loud, live rock & roll group and back again. Featuring Leithauser with a slew of talented collaborators including Rostam Batmanglij (Vampire Weekend), Paul Maroon (The Walkmen), Morgan Henderson (Fleet Foxes) and Richard Swift (The Shins/solo), the album showcases Leithauser at his most passionate, personal and free.

In its orchestrated rhythms, dynamic vocals, and generous production, Black Hours speaks from one booming voice. The instrumentation provides muscle and texture: Maroon covering a wide range of acoustic and electric guitars as well as grand piano; Batmanglij switching between guitar, harpsichord, piano, bass and harmonica; Henderson takes the marimba and upright bass, and Swift lays down impressive drums on seven tracks. Amber Coffman from the Dirty Projectors provides backing vocals on several numbers and even Hugh McIntosh of Leithauser’s first band, the Recoys, returns to the drum stool for a pair of songs.

Principal recording for Black Hours was done in August 2013 at Vox Studios in Los Angeles, “the oldest private studio in the world,” where Nat King Cole, Bing Crosby, Johnny Mercer, and countless others cut demos before appearing on air at NBC studios, just across Melrose Ave. 

This Deluxe Edition of Black Hours includes a bonus 4 track EP available exclusively on a second vinyl disc, a printed 7” x 7” accordion fold out, two inner printed card stock sleeves housed in a wide spine jacket, and the album on single 180 gram heavyweight vinyl with MP3 download card.

Hamilton Leithauser Black Hours - Deluxe Track Listing:

1.  5 AM
2.  The Silent Orchestra
3.  Alexandra
4.  11 O’Clock Friday Night
5.  St Mary’s County
6.  Self Pity
7.  I Retired
8.  I Don’t Need Anyone
9.  Bless Your Heart
10. The Smallest Splinter

1.  Waltz (Deluxe Edition)
2.  In Our Time (I’ll Always Love You) (Deluxe Edition)
3.  Utrecht (Deluxe Edition)
4.  I’ll Never Love Again (Deluxe Edition)
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. 5 AM
2. The Silent Orchestra
3. Alexandra
4. 11 O’Clock Friday Night
5. St Mary’s County
6. Self Pity
7. I Retired
8. I Don’t Need Anyone
9. Bless Your Heart
10. The Smallest Splinter

1. Waltz (Deluxe Edition)
2. In Our Time (I’ll Always Love You) (Deluxe Edition)
3. Utrecht (Deluxe Edition)
4. I’ll Never Love Again (Deluxe Edition)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.