FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Holy Sons - Decline of The West Vol. I & II (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Holy Sons Decline of The West Vol. I & II

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH12515

Holy Sons Decline Of The West Vol. I And II on Limited Edition 2LP

Double LP includes 7 Previously Unreleased Tracks from the Original Decline of the West Sessions!

10 years ago the only way you could get your hands on Decline of the West was either as an Italian import CD or one of 300 vinyl copies issued from a microscopic Atlanta label. Now Holy Sons' most beloved release is being reissued as a double LP with bonus tracks from the 2008 expanded edition and 7 brand new songs from the original album sessions that have never seen release. Each piece of it has seen Emil Amos' personal touch, down to the collaged album art on the gatefold package.

Decline of the West is named after, and conceptually began with, Oswald Spengler's pessimistic assessment that the Western culture is showing the classic signs of a society's decay and end. It is a genre-bending album that resides in the intersection of folk and punk, striving to be music of and for the People. The album is also a touchstone for Amos' career, the most well-known of his eleven (or possibly more) releases as Holy Sons.

Recorded at Amos' Portland, OR home studio in late-night recording sessions during which he played every instrument, the creative process eventually stretched over three years. He methodically deconstructed the album, re-mixing and re-editing in order, Amos says, "to unseat a lot of the tired/old ideas behind how a ‘singer-songwriter' record is supposed to sound. I wanted to represent a much more unique and apocalyptic vision than the more-pacified and depressed folk sound of my previous album."

Pulling from many traditions – jazz (syncopated timings), hardcore (discordant aggression), musique concrete (spoken word samples from other media), electronica and Jamaican dub (cut and paste sampling, melodica solos); the album is a melting pot mixed by Amos' hand. The cover songs on the album, ranging from Circle Jerks to Billy Joe Royal point at Amos' personal influences and ethos.

Amos has said, "Holy Sons is about facing your personal reality. You can't wear it, it's not cool, so it's not a commodity in this culture. I don't think it's built to succeed in any way." And yet, despite not being built for success, this record has connected with people. Its powerful message about the world that is slowly falling apart around us has resonated powerfully and continues to turn on new listeners to the truth, one play at a time.

Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Gnostic Device
2. The Feral Kid
3. Saccharine Trust
4. Slave Morality
5. Level Anything (Sebadoh cover)
6. Kindred Spirit
7. More Noise Pollution
8. Satanic Androids
9. Evil Falls
10. Bleakest Picture
11. Nothing Left (Daniel Johnston cover)
12. Things You Do While Waiting For The Apocalypse
13. Nature's Way (Randy California cover)
14. My Graveyard
15. Down in the Boondocks (Joe South cover)
16. Let Me Give Up II
17. Beverly Hills (Circle Jerks cover)
18. Accept the Truth!
19. I'm Healed
20. More Therapy
21. No Claws
22. Song from the Conscience
23. Last Wave

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.