FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Honey LTD - The Complete LHI Recordings (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Honey LTD - The Complete LHI Recordings

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDH102

Honey LTD The Complete LHI Recordings on LP 

Remastered from the Original Mono Tapes

Lee Hazlewood’s LHI label only put out interesting albums. Yet despite the psychedelic cowboy’s success with Nancy Sinatra and more, being on Lee Hazlewood Industries was no fast-track to success. Gorgeous and talented Detroit, Michigan girl group Honey LTD had all the makings of a hit band, yet they disappeared after releasing just one album in 1968, a vinyl rarity that now regularly fetches upwards of $2,000.

Light In The Attic Records is now looking to set the record straight. Having previously explored both the back catalog of Lee Hazlewood and his LHI label via the You Turned My Head Around 45s Box Set, Honey LTD’s The Complete LHI Recordings presents everything the group ever recorded. Fans of The Ronettes, The Shangri-Las and Pentangle are in for a treat – Honey LTD’s music blended social commentary with harmony-drenched, psych-soul pop. Even opening track, "Warrior," describes the mood of the times, as America sunk into the Vietnam war: “We must kill more people; strong men are what we need!"

Laura Polkinghome, Marsha Jo Temmer and sisters Joan and Alexandra Sliwin are the girls with the angelic voices. Hailing from Detroit, the four members of Honey LTD grew up in a culture of soul music and dance shows, yet forming a band was never part of the plan. It simply happened after they sung together in a Wayne State University cafeteria and found they’d silenced the room. By 1967 they had formed a group known as the Mama Cats and were playing shows with local singer Bob Seger. 

By 1968, against a backdrop of rioting in Detroit, they’d hauled over to Los Angeles to give music a go, and it’s there that they hitch-hiked to an audition with Lee Hazlewood on Sunset Boulevard. At the time, Lee Hazlewood Industries was in its prime: the money flowed and the roster swelled. “I think Lee just sat there for a while and listened, looking at us,” Temmer recalls. “He said, ‘Yeah, I think we can do something.’ You know – immediately!” 

Before long, LHI had the band in the studio with crack session music unit The Wrecking Crew. These were not enlightened times for girl groups. The group were re-named Honey LTD by Hazlewood, and were put to work on an album without even realizing it. The band were under the impression they were simply recording singles. As a result, the band were unphased by Honey LTD’s commercial failure.

The parent label, however, did notice the album’s failure but the girls continued on. By the end of 1968, the band joined Bob Hope on the USO tour and headed to Thailand to perform for soldiers. In 1969, Alex married and quit the band, their tenure on LHI was effectively terminated and the remaining members regrouped as country-rock group Eve. But like their music, the girls’ outlook remained resolutely sunny.

“Its all a karmic equation, isn’t it?" Temmer recalled. “So many things to experience and learn and humbly let go of in this journey. Our friendship is based on love – we love each other...always have...always will.”

• First time ever reissued
• Remastered from the original mono tapes
• Comprehensive liner notes by Jessica Hundley interviewing all four band members, including unseen photos

Honey LTD The Complete LHI Recordings Track Listing:

1.  The Warrior
2.  No, You Are
3.  I've Got Your Man
4.  Silk N' Honey
5.  For Your Mind
6.  Come Down
7.  Louie, Louie
8.  Tomorrow Your Heart
9.  Eli's Coming
10. Silver Threads And Golden Needles
11. I'm So Glad
12. Love, The Devil
13. Not For Me
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Warrior
2. No, You Are
3. I've Got Your Man
4. Silk N' Honey
5. For Your Mind
6. Come Down
7. Louie, Louie
8. Tomorrow Your Heart
9. Eli's Coming
10. Silver Threads And Golden Needles
11. I'm So Glad
12. Love, The Devil
13. Not For Me

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.