FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Howlin' Wolf - Howlin' Wolf/Moanin' In Moonlight w/ Bonus Tracks (180g Import Vinyl 2LP) * * *
Click to Enlarge

Howlin' Wolf - Howlin' Wolf/Moanin' In Moonlight w/ Bonus Tracks

(180g Import Vinyl 2LP) * * *

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (3)
Item: LIH64212

Howlin' Wolf Howlin' Wolf Moanin' In Moonlight on 180g Import 2LP

2 Original Albums Plus 12 Classic Tracks!

Howlin' Wolf (Chester Burnett) will always be known as one of the founding fathers of modern day blues. His legendary style of playing guitar, his unique vocal and stage prowess and of course his stellar list of classic Chicago style blues tunes have all gone on to influence generations upon generations of rock and blues performers worldwide. With almost six decades in the music business, this Mississippi native began his career cutting early sides for Sun before landing in Chicago in the early-50s, where he began a long climb to the top of the blues world on the Chess label.

1959's Moanin' in the Moonlight was Howlin' Wolf's first long-player for the Chess label. It was a compilation of previously released singles spanning an eight year period from 1951-1958, beginning with his first single, 1951's "How Many More Years" b/w "Moanin' At Midnight" which immediately shot to the top of the R&B charts, all the way through to 1958's "Moanin' for My Baby." During the 1950s, the Wolf had two more top 10 hits, "Smokestack Lightnin'" (perhaps his single most influential song) and "I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)," also featured here.

In 1962, he released his stellar self-titled masterpiece Howlin' Wolf. Featuring an all-star band with the likes of the legendary Jimmy Rogers and Buddy Guy on guitar, the masterful Otis Spann on piano, and Willie Dixon on bass, Howlin' Wolf aka The Rockin' Chair Album has gone on to become one of the most revered albums in modern day Chicago blues history. Kicking things off with one of his finest smash hits "Shake for Me," The Wolf continues to rock the listener through a treasure trove of 11 more blues standards like "Spoonful," "Back Door Man," "Wang Dang Doodle" and "The Red Rooster."

If Vinyl Passion's double shot of Howlin' Wolf's two original albums Howlin' Wolf and Moanin' in the Moonlight isn't enough of a steal, the 2LP-set comes complete with 12 bonus tracks to really sweeten the deal!

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles

1. Shake for Me
2. The Red Rooster
3. You'll Be Mine
4. Who's Been Talkin'
5. Wang Dang Doodle
6. Little Baby
7. Spoonful
8. Going Down Slow
9. Down in the Bottom
10. Back Door Man
11. Howlin' for My Baby
12. Tell Me
13. Howlin Wolf Boogie (bonus track)
14. Mr. Highway Man (bonus track)
15. I'm The Wolf (bonus track)
16. Rockin Daddy (bonus track)
17. Who Will Be Next (bonus track)
18. The Natchez Burning (bonus track)

1. Moanin' At Midnight
2. How Many More Years
3. Smokestack Lightnin'
4. Baby How Long
5. No Place To Go
6. All Night Boogie
7. Evil
8. I'm Leavin' You
9. Moanin' For My Baby
10. I Asked For Water (She Gave Me Gasoline)
11. Forty-Four
12. Somebody In My Home
13. Sitting On Top Of The World (bonus track)
14. I Better Go Now (bonus track)
15. Howlin For My Darling (bonus track)
16. I've Been Abused (bonus track)
17.Just Like I Treat You (bonus track)
18. I Ain't Superstitions (bonus track)

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.