FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Indigo Girls - One Lost Day (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Indigo Girls - One Lost Day

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDI46813

Indigo Girls One Lost Day on 180g 2LP

It has been four years since the Indigo Girls released a new studio album. In June 2015, their much-anticipated release One Lost Day, will be available on IG Recordings/Vanguard Records. With the help of visionary new producer Jordan Brooke Hamlin (Lucy Wainwright Roche) and mixer Brian Joseph (Bon Iver, PHOX, Kathleen Edwards), Amy Ray and Emily Sailers have created a landscape of truly original sounds and stories ranging from stark intimacy to bombastic pop and grind. 

On One Lost Day, musicality, whimsy, rawness, sadness and joy move through each of the 13 tracks. This theme is especially evident on the first single, “Happy in the Sorrow Key,” written by Ray. “I drew from lyrics I wrote during some of my travels with the IG’s,” Amy said. “I was thinking about the things that keep us weighed down with non-acceptance and a refusal to embrace impermanence and suffering. I don’t think you can make change for the good until you do, so it’s an activist part of me searching for a way to face reality and still have the energy and passion to work for good.”

One Lost Day was recorded in studios in Nashville, TN and mixed at Justin Vernon’s April Base Studios in Fall Creek, WI and at the Parhelion Recording Studios in Atlanta, GA. Musicians Brady Blade and Carol Isaacs from the Indigo Girls’ Beauty Queen Sister returned, along with their touring band. Additionally, Amy and Emily brought in Lex Price (k.d. lang, Mindy Smith), Butterfly Boucher (Ingrid Michaelson, Katie Herzig, Mat Kearney), Fred Eltringham (Sheryl Crow, The Wallflowers, Gigolo Aunts) and Chris Donohue (Dave Matthews, Patty Griffin, Lucinda Williams, Robert Plant) to bring a good dose of infectious energy and creativity to the scene.

“We took some chances on the making of One Lost Day, with a new producer, engineer, and various musicians,” Emily said. “Stretching like that felt liberating to me. Each song tells a story of where we’ve been and what we’ve thought about, whom we’ve met, and the travels we’ve had. It is a travelogue on lessons learned and love lived. I’m so glad we brought Jordan Hamlin on board to take us to new musical landscapes for this group of songs. And my relationship with Amy feels further strengthened by the collection of these songs and the diligent effort to make them the best they could be.”

Amy mirrors Emily’s sentiments. “The title sums it up for me,” she said. “This is about the one lost day that rekindled and infused with our spirit to find that making music is just as vibrant and full of passion as it’s even been for us!”

Indigo Girls One Lost Day Track Listing:

1.  Elizabeth
2.  Happy In The Sorrow Key
3.  Southern California Is Your Girlfriend
4.  Texas Was Clean
5.  Alberta
6.  Olympia Inn

1.  If I Don't Leave Here Now
2.  Spread The Pain Around
3.  Learned It On Me
4.  The Rise Of The Black Messiah
5.  Findlay, Ohio 1968
6.  Fishtails
7.  Come A Long Way

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Elizabeth
2. Happy In The Sorrow Key
3. Southern California Is Your Girlfriend
4. Texas Was Clean
5. Alberta
6. Olympia Inn
7. If I Don't Leave Here Now
8. Spread The Pain Around
9. Learned It On Me
10. The Rise Of The Black Messiah
11. Findlay, Ohio 1968
12. Fishtails
13. Come A Long Way

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.