FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jake Bugg - Shangri La (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Jake Bugg - Shangri La

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB0578

Jake Bugg Shangri La on LP

Follow-Up to the British Singer/Songwriter's Chart Topping Debut Produced by Rick Rubin

Young British singer/songwriter Jake Bugg's highly-anticipated new album, Shangri La follows his critically acclaimed eponymous debut and will come just over a year since that record went straight to Number 1 and sent Bugg into the record books as the youngest solo male to debut at the top of the charts with their first release. It’s fast-approaching sales of one million worldwide and cemented him as one of the most exciting new talents to emerge in recent years. 

Now hooked up with legendary producer Rick Rubin, he is set to scale new heights. His new album - named after Rubin's studio - is a much more fully-formed piece of work than its predecessor and is a stand out release of this or any year. The collaboration with Rubin follows the time they spent in the studio together earlier this year, re-recording “Broken” (which featured Chad Smith on drums) from Jake Bugg.

"My first album felt like a list of songs, whereas this one feels like a whole entity with something to say," explains Bugg. "Or if my first album was the colour of grey, this one's the colour of the sun."

Blistering, urgent lead single “What Doesn’t Kill You” features Jason Lader on bass, Matt Sweeney on guitar and Pete Thomas of The Attractions on drums. Lyrically it’s still grounded in his experiences of life in Nottingham but now in much sharper focus, capturing the emotional intensity of finding your feet as a teenager. Musically it is a scorching, searing track that is over in just two minutes and is as lean a track as they come.

On top of the success of his debut, Bugg has toured with Noel Gallagher and Snow Patrol in the US. He is currently nominated for two Q Awards (Best New Act, Best Solo Act) and the Barclaycard Mercury Prize. These nominations follow similar nods at this year’s Brit and NME Awards. He drew one of the biggest crowds of the weekend at Glastonbury, as well as at Reading/Leeds Festival, T In The Park and Summer Sonic in Japan. He returned to Nottingham to headline Splendour this summer, a triumphant homecoming show in front of 17,000 adoring fans.

Jake Bugg Shangri La Track Listing:

1.  There's A Beast And We All Feed It
2.  Slumville Sunrise  
3.  What Doesn't Kill You  
4.  Me And You  
5.  Messed Up Kids  
6.  A Song About Love  
7.  All Your Reasons
8.  Kingpin  
9.  Kitchen Table  
10. Pine Trees  
11. Simple Pleasures  
12. Storm Passes Away
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. There's A Beast And We All Feed It
2. Slumville Sunrise
3. What Doesn't Kill You
4. Me And You
5. Messed Up Kids
6. A Song About Love
7. All Your Reasons
8. Kingpin
9. Kitchen Table
10. Pine Trees
11. Simple Pleasures
12. Storm Passes Away

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.