FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jamestown Revival - Utah (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Jamestown Revival - Utah

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ19773

Jamestown Revival Utah on LP + Download

At the heart of Jamestown Revival is a friendship that spans over a decade. Jonathan Clay and Zach Chance grew up together in the small Texas town of Magnolia. From a young age, they shared a love for music as well as the outdoors. About an hour north of Magnolia TX, there was some old family land with a dilapidated ranch house where they spent the better part of their adolescence.

At one point or another, music from Creedence Clearwater Revival and The Everly Brothers, to fellow Texans Willie Nelson, Guy Clark and Stevie Ray Vaughan found it’s way through an old pair of speakers that sat on the back porch. The pair spent the day exploring that thousand-acre plot of land, and when the sun went down they took to the records of the songwriters and bands that inspired them. 

At the age of 22, they moved to Austin and began to craft a sound of their own. Deeply rooted in harmony, they merged the sounds of the South with classic American and Western rock. Looking for adventure, as well as a change of pace, they eventually made the decision to head west and make the move to Los Angeles, CA. Throughout the course of the next 12 months, they wrote what is Jamestown Revival’s first full-length album, Utah

It’s heavily autobiographical, telling the stories of their adventures, their discomforts, and their observations. In order to capture the spirit of the music, the two found a log cabin high within the Wasatch Mountains of Utah. The pair, along with their band and engineer, set out to convert it in to a temporary recording studio. With wild moose right outside the window, and aspen leaves spinning in the wind, they tracked the 11 songs that make up Utah. Performed live, with no headphones, and entirely to tape, the process captured the moments in the room.

Clay and Chance have since moved back to Austin and signed a record deal with Republic Records. Adding to the already soulful album, the band is now re-releasing Utah with three brand new arrangements of the signature tracks. Through constant touring, the songs took on a life of their own, and these arrangements better reflect the songs as they are today. Teaming up with Republic gave Jonathan and Zach the chance to add to the album without sacrificing what was special about the original Utah. It was a chance to go back and record the growth that has occurred over the past year, and add to an already strong collection of recordings.

Jamestown Revival Utah Track Listing:

1.  Fur Coat Blues
2.  California (Cast Iron Soul)
3.  Golden Age
4.  Wandering Man
5.  Heavy Heart
6.  Revival
7.  Truth
8.  Medicine
9.  Headhunters
10. Time Is Gone
11. Home


Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Fur Coat Blues
2. California (Cast Iron Soul)
3. Golden Age
4. Wandering Man
5. Heavy Heart
6. Revival
7. Truth
8. Medicine
9. Headhunters
10. Time Is Gone
11. Home

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.