FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jamie Cullum - Interlude: 75th Anniversary (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Jamie Cullum - Interlude: 75th Anniversary

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC95930

Jamie Cullum Interlude on 2LP

Issued As Part of the Blue Note 75th Anniversary Campaign

Blue Note Records is the new U.S. home of Jamie Cullum, the best-selling jazz artist in U.K. history. The label will release Interlude, Cullum’s seventh studio album, in January 2015. The album marks a shift to straight-ahead jazz and a return to interpretation from an artist who has made a habit of bending genres, writing original material and bringing new sounds and new listeners to the music.
“To get where you want to go, sometimes you have to go back to where it all started,” explains Cullum. “Interlude is a celebration of my love of jazz that I get to revisit every week on my radio show. Through it, I have connected with some of the most talented musicians on the scene. This is a collaboration with them. Recorded in the original way – live, in one large room, straight to analogue tape, in single takes.”
Together with producer Benedic Lamdin of Nostalgia 77, Cullum selected a number of jewels from the American songbook, including the title track, which was penned by Dizzy Gillespie and Frank Paparelli, added a couple of modern surprises (Sufjan Steven’s “The Seer’s Tower” and Randy Newman’s “Losing You”) and invited special guests Gregory Porter and Laura Mvula into the studio for a pair of duets. 
First single, “Good Morning Heartache,” features Mvula - a song originally cut by Billie Holiday in 1946 and never before been recorded as a duet. “Laura, of course, absolutely nails it. She has a truly unique voice,” observes Cullum. “‘Good Morning Heartache’ is that beautiful thing of melancholy/joy that I love so much,” says Mvula. “I can't believe Jamie invited me to record it with him for Interlude. This album is everything and my friend Jamie is sublime and masterful as ever.”

Cullum pairs up with Porter on another classic song that had never been done as a duet, “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.” It is perhaps an unusual choice for a duet, but Jamie came up with the perfect scenario. “Imagine it’s two guys fighting over a girl and they’re each kind of stating their case,” he told Porter. While perhaps most associate the song with The Animals, who had a transatlantic hit with it, Cullum and Porter take inspiration from Nina Simone’s original recording of “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood.”
Jamie found a kindred spirit in producer Ben Lamdin, the guiding force behind the collective of musicians known as Nostalgia 77. “We both grew up listening widely, from rock, drum n’ bass to hip hop and discovered jazz through acts like DJ Shadow and A Tribe Called Quest,” says Cullum. “Loving jazz the way it used to sound and fascinated by the way it used to be recorded Ben set to work in this amazing analogue studio behind a fish market in North London. Surrounding himself with like-minded musicians he’s been going in there and making these fantastic records for about 10 years. I have been a fan since day one.”

Jamie self-released his first album, Heard It All Before, in 1999, while he was still studying at the University of Reading. Pointless Nostalgic (2002), released by legendary indie jazz label Candid Records, was certified Gold in the U.K. It was followed by Cullum’s breakthrough major label debut, Twentysomething, which climbed into the Top 5 in the U.K., where it was subsequently certified triple Platinum. Cullum recorded two songs for the Meet the Robinsons soundtrack and was nominated for a Golden Globe for “Best Original Song” for "Gran Torino," which he co-wrote for the 2008 Clint Eastwood film of the same name. Interlude is the follow-up to Cullum’s 2013 album Momentum, which he recorded with producers Dan the Automator and Jim Abbiss.

Jamie Cullum Interlude Track Listing:

1.  Interlude
2.  Don’t You Know
3.  The Seer’s Tower
4.  Walkin’
5.  Good Morning Heartache feat. Laura Mvula
6.  Sack O’ Woe
7.  Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood feat. Gregory Porter
8.  My One And Only Love
9.  Lovesick Blues
10. Losing You
11. Out Of This World
12. Make Someone Happy
13. Come And Get Me
14. Lullaby Of The Leaves
15. Come Rain Or Come Shine

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Interlude
2. Don’t You Know
3. The Seer’s Tower
4. Walkin’
5. Good Morning Heartache feat. Laura Mvula
6. Sack O’ Woe
7. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood feat. Gregory Porter
8. My One And Only Love
9. Lovesick Blues
10. Losing You
11. Out Of This World
12. Make Someone Happy
13. Come And Get Me
14. Lullaby Of The Leaves
15. Come Rain Or Come Shine

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More