FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
There are more items in your cart than displayed above. Click 'View Cart' to see the complete cart.
Music > Vinyl > Janis Joplin - Classic Vinyl LP Collection (4LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Janis Joplin - Classic Vinyl LP Collection

(4LP Box Set)

Janis Joplin - Classic Vinyl LP Collection (4LP Box Set) LDJ9174

Janis Joplin - Classic Vinyl LP Collection

(4LP Box Set)

Add to Cart
23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDJ9174
Janis Joplin The Classic LP Collection on 180g 4LP Box Set

Legendary blues-rock singer Janis Joplin first rose to stardom as the lead singer for San Francisco psychedelic band Big Brother & the Holding Company and maintained prominence later as a solo artist with her backing groups, The Kozmic Blues Band and The Full Tilt Boogie Band. Known as 'The Queen of Rock and Roll' at the height of her career, Joplin redefined the role of women in music with her signature bluesy wail and electrifying stage presence, providing some of the most emotionally charged performances of her era.

Janis Joplin's Classic LP Collection features exact reproductions sourced from the original masters of all four of her celebrated studio albums on 180g audiophile vinyl including Big Brother & the Holding Co. (1967), Cheap Thrills (1968), I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama! (1969) and the posthumously released Pearl (1971).

Besides being the album that introduced the world to Janis Joplin, Big Brother & the Holding Company’s first release stands as one of the classic recordings of ’60s rock. Joplin had added her fiery wail to the archetypal Haight-Ashbury acid-rock quintet only months before it entered the studio to make the album, and for the sessions she shares vocal duties with bassist Peter Albin and guitarist Sam Andrew. But, thanks to the album's smash single, “Down on Me,” it was immediately clear that the Texas-born singer was a sensational talent and a force to be reckoned with!

One of the most eagerly anticipated as well as most successful releases of 1968, Cheap Thrills finds Janis Joplin once again alongside Big Brother And The Holding Company on what was her major-label debut. Shooting straight to #1  and achieving gold status within months, Cheap Thrills not only had the hits in "Piece Of My Heart" and "Summertime," but it also happened to sport one of the most famous covers of all-time with Robert Crumb's pop-art album design.

I Got Dem Ol’ Kozmic Blues Again Mama! is the first solo studio album Janis Joplin recorded after leaving Big Brother and the Holding Company and the last to be issued during her lifetime. Originally released in 1969, the 8-song set features horn heavy arrangements and explosive bluesy soul performances from Joplin, no better than on the album opener "Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)."

Originally released on January 11, 1971 (three months after her passing on October 4, 1970), the Paul Rothschild produced Pearl debuted Janis Joplin's final finished studio recordings as well as intimations of what the influential American country-soul-blues-rock singer was capable of delivering. The only album Joplin ever recorded with the Full Tilt Boogie Band, the touring ensemble that had backed her on the Festival Express, Pearl includes studio recordings of songs that had been introduced to audiences on tour. Peaking at #1 on the Billboard 200, a position it held for nine weeks, Pearl features some of Janis' most familiar and best-loved performances including her cover of Kris Kristofferson's "Me and Bobby McGee" and her off-the-cuff a cappella "Mercedes Benz."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
LP1 - Big Brother & The Holding Company/Big Brother & The Holding Company
1.  Bye, Bye Baby
2.  Easy Rider
3.  Intruder
4.  Light Is Faster Than Sound
5.  Call On Me
6.  Coo coo
7.  Women Is Losers
8.  Blindman
9.  Down On Me
10. Caterpillar
11. All Is Loneliness
12. The Last Time

LP2 - Big Brother & The Holding Company/Cheap Thrills
1.  Combination of the Two
2.  I Need A Man To Love
3.  Summertime
4.  Piece Of My Heart
5.  Turtle Blues
6.  Oh, Sweet Mary
7.  Ball & Chain

LP3 - Janis Joplin/I Got Dem Ol' Kozmic Blues Again Mama!
1.   Try (Just a Little Bit Harder)
2.   Maybe
3.   One Good Man
4.   As Good As You've Been To This World
5.   To Love Somebody
6.   Kozmic Blues
7.   Little Girl Blue
8.   Work Me, Lord

LP4 - Janis Joplin/Pearl
1.  Move Over
2.  Cry Baby
3.  A Woman Left Lonely
4.  Half Moon
5.  Buried Alive In The Blues
6.  My Baby
7.  Me & Bobby McGee
8.  Mercedes Benz
9.  Trust Me
10. Get It While You Can

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio
MD 2020 Catalog


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More