FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Jim James - Regions Of Light And Sound Of God (200G Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Jim James - Regions Of Light And Sound Of God

(200G Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDJ3516
Jim James Regions Of Light And Sound Of God on LP + Download

Debut Solo Album from My Morning Jacket Frontman

Cut by Bernie Grundman and Pressed at Quality Record Pressings for Pure Audiophile Sound Quality

Ambitious Record Produced, Engineered, and Played Entirely By James

Jim James, most famous for his role as frontman for My Morning Jacket and membership in Monsters of Folk, expands his horizons again with Regions of Light and Sound of GodWith this project, he reaches into new territory that extends, but doesn’t break from, MMJ’s accomplishments. Until now, James had never felt the call to create a longer-form album on his own.

“I’m very lucky to play in a band with guys that I love, who are great at what they do,” he says, “so on MMJ records, I don’t have a need to play bass or keys or what have you. But as a person and as a musician, I love to play every instrument under the sun, and I wanted to make a record where I played all the instruments and produced/engineered it myself.”

The results are nine songs that resist easy categorization, from the hazy space-funk of the opening “State of the Art (A.E.I.O.U.)” to the chiming, operatic pop of “A New Life.” On Regions of Light and Sound of God, nothing is what it seems, touchstones from old-school R&B or island folk or hip-hop flicker into focus and then disappear; a delicate instrumental is titled “Exploding.” It’s complex but cohesive, intimate and hypnotic where My Morning Jacket might turn more wide-screen and epic.

Cut by Bernie Grundman and pressed at QRP, this analog edition boasts true audiophile sound quality and stands as the latest peak accomplishment in James' career. Wait 'til you hear it spinning on your table.

"Quietly stunning." - Pitchfork

"Magnificent!" - Rolling Stone

"Spirituallly searching...Jim James goes deep on solo album." - Spin

Jim James Regions Of Light And Sound Of God Track Listing:

1.  State Of The Art (A.E.I.O.U)
2.  Know Til Now
3.  Dear One
4.  A New Life
5.  Exploding
6.  Of The Mother Again
7.  Actress
8.  All Is Forgiven
9.  God‘s Love To Deliver
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. State Of The Art (A.E.I.O.U)
2. Know Til Now
3. Dear One
4. A New Life
5. Exploding
6. Of The Mother Again
7. Actress
8. All Is Forgiven
9. God‘s Love To Deliver

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.