FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Joan Baez - PLAY ME BACKWARDS (180G IMPORT Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge


(180G IMPORT Vinyl 2LP)

$13.99 - 31%
23Reward Points
Product Not Eligible for Further Discounts
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIB176

Joan Baez Play Me Backwards on 180g Import 2LP

Reissue features a Second LP Containing Previously Unreleased Demos of 10 Songs

First released in 1992, Play Me Backwards holds a very special place in the rich 50-year recording history of Joan Baez. The album’s sessions brought her back to Nashville for the first time since the series of four albums she had recorded in Music City between 1968 and 1971. Returning to Nashville’s familiar environment two decades later and collaborating with producers Wally Wilson and Kenny Greenberg proved to be a perfect fit.

Joan reaffirmed her unique ability to identify and interpret successive generations of songwriters whose music had the ability to speak to her: Mary Chapin Carpenter (“Stones In the Road”), John Stewart (“Strange Rivers”), John Hiatt (“Through Your Hands”), the duo of Janis Ian and Buddy Mondlock (“Amsterdam”), and Ron Davies (“Steal Across the Border” and “The Dream Song,” co-written with Joan). Play Me Backwards also contains four songs that Joan co-wrote with her two producers (“Play Me Backwards,” “Isaac and Abraham,” “I’m With You,” and “Edge Of Glory,” one of the last occasions on which she contributed to an album as a songwriter.

Adding historic provenance to this reissue is a second LP containing previously unreleased demos of 10 songs which were contemplated by Joan and her producers, heard here for the first time. Some of the songwriters are not widely known, such as the late Mark Heard (“Rise From the Ruins,” “Lonely Moon”), John Hadley (“The Last Day”), Gary Nicholson (“Trouble With the Truth”); and one writer is not known at all (“Medicine Wheel”).

On the other hand, there are additional songs from Janis Ian (“We Endure”) and Ron Davies (“Dark Eyed Man,” originally recorded by Kevin Welch as “Dark Eyed Gal”); and one that Joan wrote with Greenberg’s wife, the respected Christian artist Ashley Cleveland (“In My Day”). Fans will be immediately drawn to Joan’s version of Bob Dylan’s “Seven Curses” (his adaptation of the traditional Child Ballad “The Maid Freed From the Gallows” aka “Anathea”), the only one of these songs previously recorded by Joan (on the live album Bowery Songs in 2005).

By all accounts, Play Me Backwards is said to be the album that began the renaissance of Joan Baez’s career that has continued through 2008’s Grammy-nominated Day After Tomorrow . Play Me Backwards is an album whose impact will continue to reverberate for decades to come.

Joan Baez Play Me Backwards Track Listing:

1.  Play Me Backwards
2.  Amsterdam
3.  Isaac & Abraham
4.  Stones In The Road
5.  Steal Across The Border
6.  I'm With You
7.  I'm With You (Reprise)
8.  Strange Rivers
9.  Through Your Hands
10. The Dream Song
11. Edge Of Glory

1.  Medicine Wheel
2.  Rise From The Ruins
3.  Trouble With The Truth
4.  Much Better View Of The Moon
5.  Seven Curses
6.  Lonely Moon
7.  We Endure
8.  The Last Day
9.  In My Day
10. Dark Eyed Man

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Play Me Backwards
2. Amsterdam
3. Isaac & Abraham
4. Stones In The Road
5. Steal Across The Border
6. I'm With You
7. I'm With You (Reprise)
8. Strange Rivers
9. Through Your Hands
10. The Dream Song
11. Edge Of Glory

1. Medicine Wheel
2. Rise From The Ruins
3. Trouble With The Truth
4. Much Better View Of The Moon
5. Seven Curses
6. Lonely Moon
7. We Endure
8. The Last Day
9. In My Day
10. Dark Eyed Man

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.