FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Joanna Gruesome - Peanut Butter (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Joanna Gruesome - Peanut Butter

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDJ21410

Joanna Gruesome Peanut Butter on Limited Edition Colored LP + Download

First Pressing on Colored Vinyl

Colored Copies Are Limited / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available 

Due to rising international pressure, Joanna Gruesome’s new album Peanut Butter will finally enter the world in the summer of 2015. Rival groups will be disappointed to learn that the record is a further experiment in combining hyper melodic pop music with sonic violence. Officials have confirmed that the album contains a record number of hooks, traces of nut and elements of jangle pop, British hardcore punk, atonal music, screaming and drone organs. Yet they have issued warnings of "a marriage of radical politics with peanut butter spread." One authorized statement reads: "Weighing in at a concise 25 minutes, the album hurtles through its ten songs, each one a succinct, powerful gem."

Like their debut Weird Sister, the new album was recorded by MJ from Hookworms, with the aim of heightening the group's "pop" and "aggressive" elements to excessive and hitherto unrecorded levels. The record has also seen the group explore new and potentially dangerous lyrical territory. Under media interrogation, guitarist George Nicholls confesses to the themes of the record: "It’s about radical politics, fancying people and espionage. The first record was more about violence and revenge fantasy, whereas this one is more about peanut butter."

Comprised of Alanna McArdle (vocals), Owen Williams (guitar), Max Warren (bass), George Nicholls (guitar/organ) and David Sandford (drums), the band members originally met on a wine tasting holiday. Their debut album Weird Sister took the world by storm when it was released in September 2013 and went on to win the 2014 Welsh Music Prize. Since the release of Weird Sister the band have been constantly badgered, surfacing from hiding in order to release split singles with Bristol’s Trust Fund and New York’s Perfect Pussy, as well as touring with Los Campesinos!, Speedy Ortiz and Stephen Malkmus.

Joanna Gruesome Peanut Butter Track Listing:  

1.  Last Year
2.  Jamie (Luvver)
3.  Honestly Do Yr Worst
4.  There Is No Function Stacy
5.  Crayon
6.  I Don't Wanna Relax
7.  Jerome (Liar)
8.  Separate Bedrooms
9.  Psykick Espionage
10. Hey! I Wanna Be Yr Best Friend 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Last Year
2. Jamie (Luvver)
3. Honestly Do Yr Worst
4. There Is No Function Stacy
5. Crayon
6. I Don't Wanna Relax
7. Jerome (Liar)
8. Separate Bedrooms
9. Psykick Espionage
10. Hey! I Wanna Be Yr Best Friend

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.