FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Johnny Cash - American Recordings Vinyl Box Set (7LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Johnny Cash - American Recordings Vinyl Box Set

(7LP Box Set)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC11571

All Six of Johnny Cash's Renowned American Recordings Albums with Rick Rubin: 180g Vinyl 7LP Box Set Cut from the Original Masters Under Rubin's Supervision and Pressed at QRP for Definitive Sound

In his 60s, Johnny Cash kicked off a new musical era with 1994's American Recordings, a simple acoustic roots-radical album on hip hop/metal producer Rick Rubin's label of the same name. The album wonderfully captured Cash's famous baritone unadorned and as powerful as ever. Topping out on the C&W chart at #23 and lingering on the pop chart for 9 weeks, American Recordings also took home a Grammy for Best Contemporary Folk Album. In addition to Cash originals like "Let The Train Blow the Whistle," "Drive On," "Redemption," and "Like A Soldier," the intimate 13-song set features stirring covers of songs by artists of all backgrounds including Nick Lowe ("The Beast In Me"), Kris Kristofferson ("Why Me Lord"), Glenn Danzig ("Thirteen"), Leonard Cohen ("Bird On A Wire"), Tom Waits ("Down There By the Train") and Loudon Wainwright III ("The Man Who Couldn't Cry"). 

Cash returned with its equally as impressive follow-up Unchained in 1996. Whereas American Recordings featured Johnny unaccompanied on acoustic guitar, Unchained finds the music legend backed by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers and Marty Stuart. The heartfelt 14-song set again consists of a mix of Cash originals like "Country Boy," "Mean Eyed Cat" and "Meet Me in Heaven" and effective covers of material by a diverse selection of artists including Beck ("Rowboat"), Soundgarden ("Rusty Cage") and Tom Petty ("Southern Accents") among others. Unchained became Cash's second straight Grammy-winning album, this time for Best Country Album.

After rejuvenating his career with the two Grammy winning albums American Recordings (1994) and Unchained (1996), Johnny took a four year break due to health reasons before returning in 2000 for his third release in the series, Solitary Man. This time around Cash performs his originals/covers program unaccompanied as well as duets with guest artists like Tom Petty, June Carter, Merle Haggard, Sheryl Crow and Will Oldham. Along with his own compositions "Field of Diamonds," "Before My Time," "Country Trash" and I'm Leavin' Now," the 14-song set features Cash's moving takes on U2's "One," Tom Petty's "I Won't Back Down," Neil Diamond's "Solitary Man," and Will Oldham's "I See A Darkness." Cash was awarded a Grammy for Best Male Country Vocal Performance for his version of Diamond's "Solitary Man," his third straight album to take home hardware from the prestigious institution.

2002's The Man Comes Around is the fourth in the series of excellent collaborations with Rubin and the last released before his death in 2003. The Man Comes Around includes new Cash compositions like the title track and revisits of older material such as "Give My Love To Rose" and "Tear Stained Letter" as well as a diverse array of cover songs including Nine Inch Nails’ "Hurt," Depeche Mode's "Personal Jesus," Simon & Garfunkel’s "Bridge Over Troubled Water" with Fiona Apple, the Eagles "Desperado" with Don Henley, and Hank Williams' "I'm So Lonesome I Could Cry" with Nick Cave. The Man Comes Around also continued Cash's Grammy winning streak, taking home awards for Best Country Male Vocal Performance for "Give My Love To Rose" and Best Short Form Video for the moving music video for "Hurt." 

Cash's first posthumous release, American V: A Hundred Highways (2006) debuted at #1 on both the Billboard Top 200 and the Country Albums chart, and contains 12 tracks recorded in 2002-2003 including the original, “Like The 309” (the last song that Johnny wrote and recorded before he died). American VI: Ain't No Grave (2010) is the final chapter and last recordings in the illustrious series. Recorded during the same 2002-2003 sessions that produced its predecessor American V: A Hundred Highways, American VI: Ain't No Grave features one Cash original ("I Corinthians 15:55"), covers of material by Sheryl Crow ("Redemption Day") and Kris Kristofferson ("For the Good Times") and the Avett Brothers on the title cut. 

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
Johnny Cash American Recordings I-VI Box Set Contents:

LP1 - American Recordings (American I)
1.  Delia's Gone
2.  Let The Train Blow The Whistle
3.  The Beast In Me
4.  Drive On
5.  Why Me Lord
6.  Thirteen
7.  Oh, Bury Me Not
8.  Bird On A Wire
9.  Tennessee Stud
10. Down There By The Train
11. Redemption
12. Like A Soldier
13. The Man Who Couldn't Cry

LP2 - Unchained (American II)
1.  Rowboat
2.  Sea of Heartbreak
3.  Rusty Cage
4.  The One Rose (That's Left In My Heart)
5.  Country Boy
6.  Memories are Made of This
7.  Spiritual
8.  The Kneeling Drunkard’s Plea
9.  Southern Accents
10. Mean Eyed Cat
11. Meet Me In Heaven
12. I Never Picked Cotton
13. Unchained
14. I've Been Everywhere

LP3 - American III: Solitary Man
1.  I Won't Back Down
2.  Solitary Man
3.  That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day)
4.  One
5.  Nobody
6.  I See A Darkness
7.  The Mercy Seat
8.  Would You Lay With Me (In A Field Of Stone)
9.  Field Of Diamonds
10. Before My Time
11. Country Trash
12. Mary Of The Wild Moor
13. I'm Leavin' Now
14. Wayfaring Stranger

LP4 - American IV: The Man Comes Around
1.  The Man Comes Around 
2.  Hurt 
3.  Give My Love To Rose 
4.  Bridge Over Troubled Water w/ Fiona Apple 
5.  I Hung My Head 
6.  First Time Ever I Saw Your Face
7.  Personal Jesus 
8.  In My Life 

LP5 - American IV: The Man Comes Around
1.  Sam Hall 
2.  Danny Boy 
3.  Desperado w/ Don Henley 
4.  I’m So Lonesome I Could Cry w/ Nick Cave 
5.  Streets of Laredo
6.  Wichita Lineman
7.  Big Iron
8.  Tear Stained Letter 
9.  We’ll Meet Again 

LP6 - American V: A Hundred Highways
1.  Help Me
2.  God’s Gonna Cut You Down
3.  Like the 309 (written by CASH)
4.  If You Could Read My Mind
5.  Further On Up the Road
6.  The Evening Train
7.  I Came to Believe
8.  Love’s Been Good To Me
9.  A Legend In My Time
10. Rose of My Heart
11. Four Strong Winds
12. I’m Free From the Chain Gang Now

LP7 - American VI: Ain't No Grave
1.  Ain't No Grave 
2.  Redemption Day
3.  For the Good Times 
4.  1 Corinthians 15:55
5.  Can't Help But Wonder Where I'm Bound
6.  Satisfied Mind
7.  I Don't Hurt Anymore 
8.  Cool Water
9.  Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream
10. Aloha Oe

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.