FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Johnny Cash - Orange Blossom Special (200g Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Johnny Cash - Orange Blossom Special

(200g Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDC40701

Johnny Cash Orange Blossom Special on Numbered 200g LP from Exhibit Records

Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio

Known throughout the world as one of the major figures of post-Hank Williams country music, Johnny Cash constantly sought to expand his musical horizons and avoid being pigeonholed. Cash was at his most engagingly eclectic on Orange Blossom Special, recorded in 1964. For starters, 'The Man In Black' covered three tunes by Bob Dylan, then the most talked-about young singer-songwriter of the dawning folk-rock era ("It Ain't Me Babe," "Don't Think Twice, It's Alright" and "Mama, You've Been On My Mind"). 

The Nashville musical establishment hardly embraced Dylan's mind-blowing lyrics, but Cash, knowing genius when he heard it, was the first major country star to cover his work. By the same token, he also rendered two numbers by A.P. Carter of the legendary Carter Family, who, along with Jimmy Rodgers, created the musical template that's still the model for "traditional" country, bluegrass, and some forms of folk. 

And Cash's unmistakable, tough-hewn baritone rendered the classic fiddle tune that is the title track, as well as "Danny Boy" (with a spoken word intro), the spiritual "Amen" and the traditional story-song "The Long Black Veil." Cash's compositions include "The Wall," one of the prison songs for which he is known, and the protest tune "All Of God's Children Ain't Free." 

Orange Blossom Special (with liner notes by the artist and never-before seen archive photos) finds Cash backed by the Tennessee Two, his outstanding guitar/bass tandem of Luther Perkins and Marshall Grant and guest appearances by such Nashville aces as Boots Randolph on tenor sax, pianists Floyd Cramer and Bill Pursell, guitarist Norman Blake, and harmonica ace Charlie McCoy. And on Johnny Horton's "When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)," Cash is accompanied by the now-familiar female voice of June Carter.

•  200g stereo vinyl
•  Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
•  28 pt. gatefold includes new archived (early 1960s era) photos of Johnny Cash
•  Box car numbered edition

Johnny Cash Orange Blossom Special Track Listing:

1.  Orange Blossom Special 
2.  The Long Black Veil 
3.  It Ain't Me Babe 
4.  The Wall
5.  Don't Think Twice It's All Right 
6.  You Wild Colorado 
7.  Mama, You Been On My Mine 
8.  When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below) 
9.  All Of God's Children Ain't Free 
10. Danny Boy 
11. Wildwood Flower 
12. Amen 
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Orange Blossom Special
2. The Long Black Veil
3. It Ain't Me Babe
4. The Wall
5. Don't Think Twice It's All Right
6. You Wild Colorado
7. Mama, You Been On My Mine
8. When It's Springtime In Alaska (It's Forty Below)
9. All Of God's Children Ain't Free
10. Danny Boy
11. Wildwood Flower
12. Amen

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.