FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Johnny Griffin - THE CONGREGATION (180g Japanese Mono Import Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge


(180g Japanese Mono Import Vinyl LP)

$15.00 - 30%
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LIG1580

Johnny Griffin The Congregation on 180g Japanese Import LP!

This series of Blue Note titles are made for music lovers and collectors who are not happy with the current trend in mastering at 45-RPM. Many of our customers have complained about flipping sides every eight to ten minutes. These Japanese pressings are made for these jazz lovers, at the standard speed of 33 1/3.

For many decades, Japanese pressings have been sought out by audiophiles and serious collectors the world over. Their mastering technology is first-class and the pressing quality is the world’s best. Japanese pressing plants are virtual “Clean Rooms”, unlike pressing plants here in the USA. LPs from Japan have always been the quietest ever manufactured! 

Johnny Griffin is one of the fastest, sharpest tenor saxophonists to emerge in the fertile 1950s. His third and final Blue Note recording is one of a handful that sported a cover illustration by the then struggling artist Andy Warhol. The quartet date with Sonny Clark and Paul Chambers is a relaxed, mature affair that ranges from the gospel-flavored title tune to a beautiful "I'm Glad There Is You" and an up-tempo "It's You or No One." Added to the original album is "I Remember You," a bonus track from the session. 

Johnny Griffin The Congregation Track Listing

1.  The Congregation
2.  Latin Quarter
3.  I'm Glad There Is You
4.  Main Spring
5.  It's You Or No One
6.  I Remember You

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Congregation
2. Latin Quarter
3. I'm Glad There Is You
4. Main Spring
5. It's You Or No One
6. I Remember You

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.