FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Joy Division - Vinyl Box Set (180g 4LP Box Set)
Click to Enlarge

Joy Division - Vinyl Box Set

(180g 4LP Box Set)

$10.00 - 4%
23Reward Points
Availability: Out Of Stock
Item: LDJ2911

Joy Division Vinyl Box Set on 180g 4LP Box Set

Housed in Elegant Cloth-Covered Box Designed by Peter Saville

U.K.'s Most Important Post-Punk Band in the Highest Fidelity Possible: These Albums Are Legendary and Sound Incredible on 180g LP

This 180g virgin vinyl, four-disc Joy Division Box Set contains new pressings of the band's two seminal studio albums, Unknown Pleasures (1979) and Closer (1980), as well as the 1981 double rarities compilation Still. The Joy Division Vinyl Box Set allows you to experience these pioneering albums the way they were heard originally, on sonically rich vinyl LPs. The three titles, a total of four LPs, come housed in an elegant cloth-covered box designed by U.K. artist Peter Saville, who created the distinctive artwork and packaging on the original issues of these classic releases.

Joy Division's 1979 debut Unknown Pleasures is a landmark album that established the band as principal architects and ultimate icons of the post-punk movement and the U.K. Manchester scene of the late '70s. Unknown Pleasures' ten classic songs resonate with the atmospheric textures and deep sonic spaces of Martin Hannett's production. Highlights include "Insight," "Disorder," "New Dawn Fades" and "She's Lost Control." The latter song is the inspiration for the title of the 2007 film Control, the acclaimed Anton Corbijn-directed feature chronicling the life and times of Joy Division's lead singer and principal songwriter, the late Ian Curtis.

Joy Division's 1980 follow-up Closer, another seminal post-punk masterpiece, ranks #157 on Rolling Stone's list of the 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time. Musically and lyrically driven by the prevailing despair of Ian Curtis - who killed himself only months after the LP was released - Closer was also produced by Martin Hannett, who weaves sprawling emotional chaos and shifting atmospheres and textures together into an enormously powerful ten-song tour de force. Stand-outs include "Heart And Soul," "Isolation," "Eternal," "Decades," and the wrenching "Twenty Four Hours."

The compilation Still came out in late 1981, over a year after Curtis' death. Comprised of 20 studio outtakes, b-sides, live cuts and other rarities, all the tracks were previously unissued at the time of Still's original release except for "Glass" and "Dead Souls," both compelling studio recordings from 1978 and 1979, respectively. Still also presents material from Joy Division's last-ever concert, recorded at Birmingham University in May 1980 including the only time they performed "Ceremony" live (the song would later become a New Order single). Another track captured at Birmingham is "Shadowplay," a selection covered in 2007 by The Killers for the soundtrack for the film Control. Other highlights include a live cover of The Velvet Underground's "Sister Ray" and a 1979 studio recording of "Something Must Break."

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
LP1 - Unknown Pleasures
1. Disorder
2. Day Of The Lords
3. Candidate
4. Insight
5. New Dawn Fades
6. She's Lost Control
7. Shadowplay
8. Wilderness
9. Interzone
10. I Remember Nothing

LP2 - Closer
1. Atrocity Exhibition
2. Isolation
3. Passover
4. Colony
5. Means To An End
6. Heart And Soul
7. Twenty Four Hours
8. Eternal
9. Decades

LP3 - Still
1. Exercise One
2. Ice Age
3. Sound Of Music
4. Glass
5. Only Mistake
6. Walked In Line
7. Kill
8. Something Must Break
9. Dead Souls
10. Sister Ray

LP4 - Still
1. Ceremony
2. Shadowplay
3. Means To An End
4. Passover
5. New Dawn Fades
6. Transmission
7. Disorder
8. Isolation
9. Decades
10. Digital

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More