FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kail Baxley - A Light That Never Dies (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Kail Baxley - A Light That Never Dies

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDB91749

Kail Baxley A Light That Never Dies on LP

"Sometimes you have to tear your fucking guts out...sometimes it's just there. Music is a fluid thing that never flows the same way twice," explains Kail Baxley about his upcoming earthy, organic and super-soulful album A Light That Never Dies (Forty Below Records). Self-described as "soul swagger" which captures its precise tone and sound almost exactly, he explains "It's kinda got a throbbing swing to it all for some reason. It just comes out that way...it gives you a little swagger when you walk."

Warmly analog and delving a depth of soul that recalls Astral Weeks-era Van Morrison if percolated through a slow-burning hiphop shuffle, A Light That Never Dies effortlessly melts genres, from the 50s croon ("Tell the Falling Sun"), to country blues ("Owe"), to vintage 70s soul with gospel/blues flourishes ("The Ballad of Johnny") to haunting slide-guitar atmospherics ("Chasing James Dean") without losing the sight of his deeply emotive vocals that transform from smoky to sultry, velvety to whiskey-soaked, indie rock to gospel, often times in the same measure.

A former Golden Gloves boxing champion who also held dance offs as a child with his neighbor - the legendary James Brown, Kail took this fighting spirit to music, composing textural, cinematic songs that evoke moods and emotional swells that delivers a hefty aural knock out. Co-produced by producer/engineer Eric Corne whose recording credits include Lucinda Williams, Glen Campbell, Kim Deal and John Mayall, A Light That Never Dies was recorded over the last year in three different cities – from the gritty streets of Los Angeles, CA, to the metropolitan indie rock squall of Brooklyn, NY to the downhome folk of Charleston, SC - and the three normally disparate city cultures flow naturally into the music.

Kail Baxley A Light That Never Dies Track Listing:

1.  Light That Never Dies
2.  Mr. Downtown
3.  Tell The Falling Sun
4.  The Ballad Of Johnny
5.  Morning Light
6.  Better FeelN' Better
7.  Owe
8.  Still Wonder (Interlude)
9.  Troubled Souls
10. Chasing James Dean
11. Mirrors Of Paradise

Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Light That Never Dies
2. Mr. Downtown
3. Tell The Falling Sun
4. The Ballad Of Johnny
5. Morning Light
6. Better FeelN' Better
7. Owe
8. Still Wonder (Interlude)
9. Troubled Souls
10. Chasing James Dean
11. Mirrors Of Paradise

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.