FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kasabian - 48:13 (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Kasabian 48:13

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDK05557

Kasabian 48:13 on 2LP

Kasabian’s refreshing new album 48:13 consists of 13 tracks, accumulating to a total running time of 48 minutes and 13 seconds. The distinct sound and integrity of Kasabian’s fifth studio album is the very essence of the band, distilled and re-packaged into a record which will inevitably make their unique ability extremely clear. It is a record that has been made possible by the continuous evolution and musical experimentation of the band through their previous four albums, spanning a career which celebrates its 10th year. The intent and focus of the 13 songs is also reflected in the band’s decision to distill the title of each track into a single word. 

On writing and single-handedly producing the album, guitarist and vocalist Sergio Pizzorno commented: “I felt that we had the confidence to be more direct, more honest with this album. I started to strip away layers rather than to just keep adding.” Speaking of the album – recorded at Pizzorno’s Leicester studio The Sergery – he added: “I wanted to retain the integrity of every individual idea as they came through. I sort of fought the temptation of applying more expected structures, which has resulted in some moves which have even taken me by surprise at times. I’ve somehow been able to let go yet been more focused than ever before.”  

The band’s explosive frontman Tom Meighan is perhaps even more direct with his take on the record: “Less is more, you know? It’s direct. It is what it is. Just listen to it. We’ve had the confidence to lay ourselves bare. Sergio has stripped it right back. It’s unbelievable.” Pizzorno has always cited his 3 primary musical references as being electronic music, hip hop and late 60′s music; and there has never been a record coming closer to bringing the unexpected marriage of those genres into a singular vision of the unlimited possibilities for the future of Rock and Roll. This is progressive music with roots.

First single "Eez-eh" shows just one end of the spectrum of possibilities showcased by Pizzorno’s songwriting and production. This is a relentless all-night tune which will doubtlessly ignite the moshpits. The 7-minute odyssey that is "Treat" splits into two well crafted halves; the first of which feels as if Sly and the Family Stone met up with the Beastie Boys sometime in the distant future. The second part kicks in and somehow seamlessly bathes us in a sea of pure acid house, a nod by Pizzorno to his up-bringing in the midlands surrounded by the rave scene in the 90s.

Another example of the album’s futuristic direction is found in "Explodes." The de-constructive and experimental nature of its structure never conflicts with its undeniable melodies and hooks. "Bow" is a huge anthemic song that starts off sounding something reminiscent of Nirvana, but eclectically breaks off the end into something more like the Terminator soundtrack. "Stevie" is arguably one of Kasabian’s most powerful songs to date. A sort of battle cry, reminding us of recent socio-cultural conflict and tension. "S.P.S." is a song that perfectly sums up the moment of a night when two best friends are the last ones standing. "Bumblebeee" features a wall of fizzing sound, and an organ part inspired by Nigerian lo-fi electronic auteur William Onyeabor. 

48:13 addresses everything from politics and consumerism to altered states of mind and the saturation of technology, and features a guest appearance from 23-year old spoken word artist Suli Breaks. Kasabian are: songwriter, guitarist, vocalist and producer Sergio Pizzorno, lead singer Tom Meighan, bassist Chris Edwards, drummer Ian Matthews and new touring guitarist Tim Carter.

Kasabian 48:13 Track Listing:

1.  Shiva
2.  Bumblebeee
3.  Stevie
4.  Mortis
5.  Doomsday
6.  Treat
7.  Glass

1.  Explodes
2.  Levitation
3.  Clouds
4.  Eez-eh
5.  Bow
6.  S.P.S.
Read More Less
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Music Direct - How to Clean Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Shiva
2. Bumblebeee
3. Stevie
4. Mortis
5. Doomsday
6. Treat
7. Glass

1. Explodes
2. Levitation
3. Clouds
4. Eez-eh
5. Bow
6. S.P.S.

Reviews (0)

You must logged in to ask a question, vote on a question, or answer a question. Click here to login.

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2016. All Rights Reserved.