FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Katatonia - Dethroned And Uncrowned (Vinyl 2LP)
Click to Enlarge

Katatonia - Dethroned And Uncrowned

(Vinyl 2LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDK8401

Katatonia Dethroned And Uncrowned on 180g 2LP

In August of 2012 Katatonia released Dead End Kings, their ninth studio album. The album was the band's most successful to date and cemented the Swede's position as masters of darkened/sorrowful metal. Dead End Kings was issued on the Peaceville label, the band's home for the past 14 years. 

In September of 2013  Katatonia returns with Dethroned and Uncrowned, their first release on Kscope, Peaceville's sister label, home to Steven Wilson, Anathema and most recently Wisdom of Crowds, the new project from Bruce Soord of The Pineapple Thief and Katatonia’s very own Jonas Renske.

Many of the ecstatic reviews the Dead End Kings received commented on the fact that the album marked another step in the band's journey towards a more progressive sound. Dethroned and Uncrowned allows them to explore these elements of the record further as they have reworked the album, creating new moods and textures while still staying truthful to the core of the songs. 

"The synopsis is simple and album title won’t lie; the drums will be dethroned and the distorted rhythm guitars will be uncrowned! Instead, we’ll place the emphasis on the many layers of ambience, with the melodies staying central and the vocal harmonies representing the heart of the album. Also by pledging you are helping the bands ability to be able to tour further afield. Although the songs are the same and the track listing doesn’t change, we hope the end result is something entirely different! 

"Think of the album like a person’s face in the hands of a surgeon, whose appearance is gonna change, but it’s still the same person behind that face and we guess an important factor, in this case, would be that the surgeon itself is obviously Katatonia, not a stranger! If there’s one album in our repertoire that’s suited for a thing like this, it’s ‘Dead End Kings’". - Anders (Katatonia) 

Katatonia Dethroned And Uncrowned Track Listing:

1.  The Parting 
2.  The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here 
3.  Hypnone 
4.  The Racing Heart 
5.  Buildings 
6.  Leech 

1.  Ambitions 
2.  Undo You 
3.  Lethean 
4.  First Prayer 
5.  Dead Letters
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. The Parting
2. The One You Are Looking For Is Not Here
3. Hypnone
4. The Racing Heart
5. Buildings
6. Leech

1. Ambitions
2. Undo You
3. Lethean
4. First Prayer
5. Dead Letters

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.