FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Katy Perry - Prism (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Katy Perry - Prism

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Availability: In Stock (1)
Item: LDP2346

Katy Perry Prism on 2LP w/ Bonus Tracks

Featuring the Hit Singles "Dark Horse" & "Unconditionally" with 2015 Grammy Winning Producer of the Year Max Martin

Prism is the third Capitol Records full-length release from pop superstar Katy Perry and follow-up to her seven-time Grammy nominated #1 album Teenage Dream (2010) which is the second album in history to have produced five #1 singles ("California Gurls," "Teenage Dream," "Firework," "E.T." and "Last Friday Night"). 

Recorded in Santa Barbara, CA and Stockholm, Sweden, the beat driven set is heavily influenced by the Swedish pop of artists like Robyn who opened for Perry on her California Dream's tour and features production from Dr. Luke, Klas Ahlund, Sia, Bloodshy and Greg Kurstin among others. "Roar," the lead single from Prism has already reached #1 in 68 countries and has sold over 2 million downloads in its first 3 weeks. It holds the record for the biggest song sales week of 2013 and was Perry's 9th single to reach #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 chart.

The story of Prism started three years ago, on the heels of 2010’s Grammy-nominated Teenage Dream, and after what proved to be one of the most challenging years of her personal life, Katy’s cotton-candy world took a turn down a road of self-reflection as she was creating her new album. “I did a lot of figuring out who I am and reconnecting with myself and growing,” she says. “I’ve let a lot of light in, and through that it’s inspired me to write certain songs that are full of that wonderful positivity." 

The name, in a sense, says it all. “I feel like a walking prism. I get to shine a light and beam it to all of my listeners through my songs. I am really proud of all of the songs on this record, and everyone says something different. There are a lot of different colours, a lot of different moods, and a lot of different emotions. I’ve learned a lot of things in the past year as I was making it. When I started writing in November 2012, I was in a much darker place. You can see the transition I was going through in the first song I wrote for the record with Greg Wells, 'By the Grace of God.' Then, there came a point this past year where I needed to reflect and sit down and be like, ‘Okay, what’s going on inside of me, and what are some things I need to get clear and deal with? How can I help myself get to the next level and grow?’ I guess you just have to be open and ready for it." 

The record features collaborations with Katy's "dream team" of Max Martin, Dr. Luke and Cirkut, which yielded seven of Prism's 13 tracks (16 on the deluxe): "Legendary Lovers," "Birthday," "Unconditionally," "Dark Horse," "International Smile," "Ghost," and #1 track and  lead single, "Roar." Other collaborations include Bloodshy ("Love Me"), Greg Kurstin and Sia ("Double Rainbow"), as well as a return to the studio with "Firework" producers Stargate ("This Moment").

Katy co-wrote every autobiographical track. "Being a writer for me is also about being an observer - observing culture, observing people and relationships, observing myself and my feelings. I put all that stuff in there. I write with my girlfriend Bonnie McKee a lot, but sometimes I write by myself. The lyrics to my favourite song on the album, 'Unconditionally,' just came to me all at once. It’s just about me being able to tell my story completely and with great imagery. It’s kind of mathematical - this adds, this subtracts - but in general the theme this time around is just me. I look at the record as telling my whole story, not just making sure every song is a hit. And as much as I enjoyed the candy confection era, I think it's nice to get back to my roots for a bit."

Katy Perry Prism Track Listing:

1.  Roar
2.  Legendary Lover
3.  Birthday
4.  Walking On Air
5.  Unconditionally
6.  Dark Horse 
7.  This Is How We Do
8.  International Smile

1.  Ghost
2.  Love Me
3.  This Moment
4.  Double Rainbow
5.  By the Grace of God
6.  Spiritual
7.  It Takes Two
8.  Choose Your Battles
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Roar
2. Legendary Lover
3. Birthday
4. Walking On Air
5. Unconditionally
6. Dark Horse
7. This Is How We Do
8. International Smile

1. Ghost
2. Love Me
3. This Moment
4. Double Rainbow
5. By the Grace of God
6. Spiritual
7. It Takes Two
8. Choose Your Battles

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.