FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $49*
Music > Vinyl > Kevin Devine - Bulldozer (Vinyl LP)
Click to Enlarge

Kevin Devine - Bulldozer

(Vinyl LP)

23Reward Points
Add to Cart
Item: LDD40817

Kevin Devine Bulldozer on LP + Download Card

After launching a successful Kickstarter campaign, Brooklyn-based singer/songwriter Kevin Devine formed Devinyl Records to release two records simultaneously with Bulldozer and Bubblegum. During the Fall of 2012, as Devine wrote and recorded demos of the twenty-two songs, he divided his catalog into two camps: the acoustic based songs he would record with Rob Schnapf in L.A., and the songs he would record with Jesse Lacey in New York, some of which were written on bass guitar. 

The 10-songs that comprise Bulldozer, Devine's acoustic album, were recorded in L.A. from March to April 2013 and produced by frequent collaborator Rob Schnapf. With Devine on guitar, Schnapf gathered a stellar group of musicians to back him - Russell Pollard and Elijah Thomson (Everest) on drums and bass, respectively; Isobel Campbell (Belle & Sebastian) on backup vocals; and Schnapf himself on guitar, mellotron, and percussion. 

The commanding big sound of “Now Navigate!” with its chiming guitars, tongue-in-cheek wordplay, is a stampede of power pop, as is the quintessential rock/pop sound of “Little Bulldozer.” Songs like “She Can See Me” bring out Devine’s punk rock roots. “From Here” was written in the days after Hurricane Sandy when Devine put things on hold to volunteer around Staten Island, where he partially grew up, and Brooklyn, where he now lives. Primarily, he came to the aid of two close friends who had lost their homes in the hurricane. Devine aided in food and material drives and played in benefit concerts. 

On “For Eugene,” centered around the death of Eugene Contrubis, one of the many who drowned on Staten Island, Isobel Campbell, known most popularly from Belle & Sebastian, lends her voice to add a moving layer to a song that swells to high emotional peaks. The cover art for Bulldozer was designed by Mike Almquist from a photograph taken by Ninelle Efremova. Vinyl also includes download card.

Kevin Devine Bulldozer Track Listing:

1.  Now Navigate 
2.  Little Bulldozer 
3.  From Here 
4.  Couldn't Be Happier 
5.  You Brushed 
6.  The Worm In Every 
7.  Matter Of Time 
8.  She Can See ME 
9.  For Eugene 
10. Safe
Related Videos
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Music Direct - How We Pack Your Records
Read More Less
Related Articles
1. Now Navigate
2. Little Bulldozer
3. From Here
4. Couldn't Be Happier
5. You Brushed
6. The Worm In Every
7. Matter Of Time
8. She Can See ME
9. For Eugene
10. Safe

Stay up-to-date on the latest and greatest in high-end audio


Check out the newest Music Direct catalogs

Learn More
Copyright © MusicDirect.com 2019. All Rights Reserved.